Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.1
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  3.3
 Location  2.9
 Security & Safety  3.4
 Service & Staff  3.5
 Food / Dining  3.1
 Total  3.2

"Not A Good Stay"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Matthew G. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Reviewed:   July 20, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Not a good stay here. I have been slow to get this follow up written but wanted to give these guys some ideas of how to improve and bring the value for money up closer to where it should be. Have traveled to Iquitos a fair amount and have lived in the developing world for years so that is not the issue here. This place is worth about $20/60 Soles a night so the issue is value for money. I paid over $100 a night which in most of the world goes a lot further that this. Was here for a week with my wife who is from Iquitos and our two young children. We booked an "apartment" for international rates but upon arrival began to experience a disastrous week to come. In hindsight we should have moved to another location after the first night but with little children and visits to my wife's family we ended up staying. Here are some of things that were frustrating IN RELATION TO HOW THIS ROOM IS MARKETED. Kitchen had a stove but no gas. No plates, cups, pots, pans or paper towels. Nothing. Don't advertise a fully working kitchen. Bathroom was filthy. Shower head was ancient and shot water all over. Shower curtain was too small so floor of bathroom was constantly wet. Water would mix with the dust/dirt and form mud. No toilet paper was provided. No hand towel was provided. No soap. No soap holder in the shower so your soap sits in the murky floor. Had to ask for all of these things multiple times. Walls in all rooms were very dirty. A deep clean and some paint seem like a no-brainer. Only one of the air conditioners worked and was quite load. Housekeeping only came three times in 6 days and only when we called them. They only come in the late afternoon and only remove garbage and make the beds. No cleaning was conducted in the time we were there. While I will say that the food that came via room service was tasty enough, the restaurant itself is a disaster and it is obvious that the staff there could care less about anything. First morning they completely ran out of fruit. If you have been to Iquitos you know how funny and ironic that is. They would leave things at high room temperature for hours and from a hygiene standpoint the whole charade is a disaster. My wife was pretty demanding of the staff to get things into place. They didn't like her and we overheard them saying that she thought she was the duena of the place. Not professional...if you are going to sh*t talk a client at least make sure they can't hear you. Speaking of the owner no one knew where he was. I asked to speak to him or a manager on 5 different occasions and they could only say que el no esta aqui en este momento. The women who worked in reception were the only ones who wanted to help but they had no resources at their disposal to do so. They seemed frustrated by a lack of leadership as well. The one guy who kept presenting himself was "only responsible for reception". He also could not produce a person in a position of responsibility. Me gustaria decir que si hay alguien del hotel leyendo esto, les digo todo lo que hay aqui no para castigarles sino para dar unas ideas faciles para mejorar su operacion y dar una impresion y una experiencia mejor a los clientes que estan listos a dar su dinero. Lo que ofrecen ahora mismo no vale ni la mitad de lo que estan pidiendo. En esa manera es una verguenza. Obviamente hay bastante dinero entrando a su bolsillo...no seria una idea mala invertir algo de ese dinero para modernizar y mejorar a su hotel. Por favor perdoname por mi espanol, se que no es muy bueno. Gracias por escuchar. Thank you for listening. And to anyone who is looking to book with this property it is my opinion as someone who has worked 20+ years in hospitality that you could do far better in Iquitos for far less money. Hopefully the management/ownership will decide to invest some money into staff training, cleaning and infrastructure so that in the future Amazon Apart Hotel can deliver on what it does a decent job of marketing...

"gebuchte Leistungen wurden nicht erfüllt"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Cornelia R. of Munich, Germany
Reviewed:   June 14, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Grundsätzlich war die Ausstattung der Zimmer ok. Allerdings funktionierte in mehreren Zimmern die Klimaanlage nicht. Dort ohne Klimaanlage zu übernachten, war für uns auf Grund der heißen Temperaturen nicht möglich. Darüber hinaus liegt das Hotel in keiner sicheren Lage. Das Personal war bis auf dem Pförtner nicht wirklich zuvorkommend. Nachdem die gebuchten Leistungen nicht erfüllt waren, haben wir uns für einen Hotelwechsel entschieden.

"Would prefer not no write a review ...."

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Yliana D. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   May 1, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Because I didn't have a good experience at all...
However I received so many reminders to write a review so here I go....
We booked a family room for 3 days. On the arrival say the room was not ready and we had to wait about 1 hour. The air conditioning was so loud and had gaps in the wall so we had to use sticky tape to close the gaps. The daily cleaning of the room was suboptimal and the roof leaked once the rain started. I understand this is not a 5 star hotel and the price was quite reasonable and I get those little faults but the worse thing was the staff rudeness and attitude, especially one of the ladies at the front desk.... She called the room at 5.50 pm to advise that our car to the airport booked for 6 pm was ready and we advised that we will come down shortly as we were finishing packing and closing our bags ( as you would expect this process doesn't go smoothly with 2 kids around )..... She kept calling every 2 min asking where we're we ? ...After about 5 calls, We refused to answer the phone and kept getting ready to leave..... She kept ringing non stop.... Gosh this was so rude! .... When we came down, I was furious and asked for an explanation... her only answer was that we kept the driver waiting but No apologies at all for her attitude! Unbelievable!

I write this review with hesitancy because as a fellow Peruvian, I do hope Peruvian businesses thrive and I have no intention to damage anybody's reputation. However we need to learn from mistakes and really hope the management of this hotel takes criticism well and improves their service and puts some effort into training their staff.

"Sucio"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Ignacio B. of Lima, Peru
Reviewed:   April 11, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
El servicio fue muy amable, pero las sabanas estaban sucias y una almohada no tenia siquiera el cubre almohadas y tambien estaba sucia. tambien tuvimos un problema con el agua caliente que comuniqué a recepción pero en ningun momento se prestaron a intentar arreglar. Por lo demas, un hotel correcto.

"Comodidad y Buena Atencion"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Flavio M. of Lima Peru, Peru
Reviewed:   March 25, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Viaje con una Sra. Adulto Mayor y recibimos un trato super amable la habitacion con muy buen aire acondicionado debido a las Altas temperaturas de la Ciudad la Ubicacion quiza no sea la ideal pues esta cerca a una zona medio insegura sobre todo por la tarde a noche pero el Personal y su amabilidad es impagable. las habitaciones limpias y el restaurante quiza el desayuno no es a1 pero los platos a la carta si estaban buenos

"Great young Staff eager to help"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Jan S. of keilor, Australia
Reviewed:   January 28, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Amazon Apartments Hotel is situated in the heart of the Berlin market area. Its a short ( 2 sols) ride into the main city area. I found the young staff extremely helpful and eager to practise their english. The breakfasts are more typical Iquitos fare than iAmerican,. Some satff went out of their way to help a lady travelling solo. I' m not a big fan of leaving my key at reception but it seems to be how they do it here. I felt a little uneasy when i returned to be told my key wasnt there as I knew my room had already been serviced that day. It may have been the language barrier but it may me feel a little uneasy.

"vacanze"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Antonio I. of Ravenna, Italy
Reviewed:   January 24, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
ottima posizione, molto pulito ma ideale solo per piccole soste, non c'è l' acqua calda nella doccia, il condizionatore è molto rumoroso il wi fi in stanza non esiste e non sempre chi è alla reeption è perfetto nel fare il suo mesterie-

"A Bit Pricey, But Good"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Augusto R. of EWA BEACH, United States
Reviewed:   January 2, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I can't complain about the room. It was basically an apartment, with two rooms, a living room, dining room, kitchenette, and AC. The inside of the hotel is also somewhat enjoyable, with a pool and some patio tables and chairs to enjoy drinks. However, I was a bit upset with the lack of transportation from the airport to the hotel, despite being assured by the front desk that they'll have a car waiting for us upon our arrival. I provided the flight information to the front desk and confirmed the room reservation. The reservation was confirmed but no car showed up at the hotel to pick us up.

"Mini family break"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Susan W. of Lancashire, England
Reviewed:   October 4, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Apart was ideal for us, we had a suite, two bedrooms. Lounge diner with kitchenette. Very clean . Friendly helpful staff. Food was varied.
My husband used the pool each day and enjoyed the swim. The TV had CNN news in English. For £70 per night including breakfast it was a good find.
Minor faults. The ventilation in our bathroom brought in all the cooking smells. I was unwell so that wasn't too good.
No crockery or cutlery in the kitchen. The restaraunt however were quite happy to lend out what you needed.
Overall a little gem in the heart of Iquitos.

"Una real estafa"

User Rating:  1.6
Reviewer:   Carolina B. of Santiago, Chile
Reviewed:   September 15, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Este "hotel" es uno de los lugares más feos e inhóspitos que he visitado. Es una real desilusión y decepción entrar a sus facilidades. Es horrible, feo, viejo, sucio, mal ambientado y mal tenido, encerrado, chico, hediondo y caluroso. La habitación no tenía nada que ver con las fotos que mostraban en internet. Era chica, mal distribuida, con camas horriblemente malas y un refrigerados y televisor desproporcionados e inn escenarios que sólo estorbaban. Además, el aire acondicionado no funcionaba bien y se encontraba escondido detrás del refrigerador por lo que no enfriaba la pieza. El piso de baldosa es húmedo y frío y da asco. Salimos corriendo a otro hospedaje, cualquier cosa era mejor.


1 - 10 of 28 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us