Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.9
 Cleanliness  4.9
 Location  4.1
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.9
 Food / Dining  4.4
 Total  4.6

"Super Hotel with super friendly staff"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Carlo M. of Mol, Belgium
Reviewed:   May 19, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed for 1 week, Hutong street looks strange when you arrive first time but you get used to this very soon and in fact it is part of the charme of the hotel, Hotel itself is very authentic decorated and rooms have all comfort you need, breakfast is also good and best thing of the hotel is it's friendly staff .. all of them speak very good English and are super friendly .. they make you feel at home .. lobby gave very usefull tips for things to visit .. we also spent many hours in the bar with Joy .. she worked there only 1 day when I arrived but she was a joy to talk with .. and so motivated to do her job well .. only one word for that .. super !

"Great Hotel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jim D. of Park City, United States
Reviewed:   April 27, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
If we are ever back in Beijing there is only 1 place we would stay. The Double Happiness Hotel. It's located in the heart of the city. It's a one story hotel with beautiful courtyards and 5 star service, and an easy walk to world class restaurants and the subway. Absolutely loved it. Jim Delanty

"Excelent place to stay"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Wilson R. of Bogota, Colombia
Reviewed:   September 22, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Ibid

"More than double the happiness"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Tam M. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   June 18, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2013     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My partner and I immensely enjoyed our time at the Double Happiness Courtyard Hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a friendly, clean, comfortable place. It is set in a beautifully maintained traditional Chinese courtyard. It's a complete oasis from the dusty city streets around it. It was very central to most of the big attractions too. Beijing's street "blocks" are absolutely massive but it was great to wander through the hutongs to the Forbidden City and Jingshan Park from the hotel. It took about 45 minutes stroll.
If walking isn't your thing, the metro station was a 5 minute walk away and really easy to use to get to all the main attractions with all signs in English.
We stayed there for 2 nights during our time in Beijing. We arrived quite late in the night as we had missed our train from Xi'an but they were so friendly and welcoming when we arrived. Nothing was a problem. We were shown to our rooms with a full run down of all the facilities and it was a pleasant surprise to be provided a turn down service.
The service from all of the staff was fantastic. They all spoke perfect English and were able to assist us to find places we wanted to go and to recommend others we hadn't read about by writing the addresses down in Chinese to show taxi drivers/people along the way.
We stayed in the honeymoon room and it was absolutely gorgeous. It was the perfect size for a couple with a beautiful Chinese day bed and traditional ornamental wood and textiles decorating the room. It was also nice and warm after wandering around in chilly temperatures.
The map they provided on their website was extremely handy in showing to our taxi driver from the train as my sense of direction in Beijing was non-existent! As per a number of the reviews we read, it's a pretty long walk down the hutong to get to the hotel so don't give up. Keep on walking. You can't miss the well lit entrance with bright red and gold signage.
They were also really helpful in arranging tours. As our trip to China was so short (only 9 days to see 3 cities), I wanted to make sure everything was booked prior to arriving so had emailed the hotel a series of questions about tours to the Wall amongst other queries. They were always extremely quick in their response and were extremely flexible too with their suggestions. Even up to the day prior, they organised a private driver up to Mutianyu for an early departure (to beat the crowds). They even arranged a snack pack for both of us to take as we would miss the beautiful hot and cold buffet breakfast they provided. There are also a number of small snack bars and cafe/restaurants along the hutong that may not look the cleanest but served up some delicious food.

"A taste of the real China in the heart of old Beijing"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Marion D. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   May 22, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2013     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My traveling companion and I were surprised and delighted with the comfortable accommodation and excellent breakfast at this traditional courtyard hotel in a hutong tucked away in old Beijing, away from the rush and bustle of the modern city, but close to transport and accessible to most amenities. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, spoke good English, and looked after us with charm and efficiency.

"Extremely Serene"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Raeanne B. of Wenatchee,WA, United States
Reviewed:   April 24, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
What a wonderful blend of old and new with beauty, elegance, and convenience! Every need was anticipated and provided in the room and the staff was excellent in every sense. The complimentary breakfast was a fantastic buffet of Chinese and Western choices that was out of this world. The food in their restaurant for dinner was equally delicious and served with wonderful presentation. The location was near transportation which we were able to use to reach even the farthest of Summer Palace. Cars and drivers were available and taxis were set up for even a 5:30 am airport trip. Nice quiet location.

"Cozy hotel! Great Staff!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Austin N. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   March 3, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great little hotel with the traditional chinese decor (clean and cozy). Location by taxi is superb as its right in the heart of town, but by train is a fair distance of walking away. That said, location is very safe (even in the middle of the night) with police station a few house down. I speak mandarin (chinese) so taking taxi was not a problem at all. Staff was very helpful and happy to inform of their knowledge of Beijing. The staff made our staying experience in this hotel and Beijing complete. Will definitely be back when we return to Beijing!


1 - 7 of 7 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us