Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.9
 Rooms  4.0
 Cleanliness  4.3
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.4
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.2

"What a disappointment it was"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Antonio B. of Washington DC, United States
Reviewed:   September 14, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were quite disappointed with everything except the view. Food was poor, bedding was old and smelly, and a lot of Kitchen stuff were missing ( there were 4 mugs, but 3 saucers, 2 folks etc) . It was pricy. Someone sent us an email saying we will be picked up at the port, in reality, it was a taxi and we were asked to pay for it. We were quite disappointed.

"To be honest...at the beginning"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   M L. of Munich, Germany
Reviewed:   January 10, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
we thought it was a nice, cozy hotel. Our room was nice but after a second look, not very clean. Service was good, the people were nice. Still: all in all way too pricey. Breakfast was miserable. It takes a long walk to the beach which is a mess. Taboga Island is a mess as well. It is incredible to see how this island and its infrastructure has gone down the drain (BTW that's how it smells too).

"Quiet time, great food and wonderful staff"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Louis O. of Seattle, United States
Reviewed:   August 13, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We enjoyed very much our stay. The owner greeted us in Panama City at the ferry terminal which was totally unexpected but very nice. We felt in great hands. Cerrito
Tropical is located up a hill but thenown site manager greeted us and wempaid $3.00 for two to be hauled up the hill. All in all a great experience.

"Tranquil until the weekend"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   Z C. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 18, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We are expats living in Panama and travelled to Isla Taboga for a long weekend. We went with the intention of hiking in the jungle and doing a bit of snorkelling.

Good Points
* Our first two days at the hotel were nice and quiet and very relaxing.
* A 5 minute walk to nearest beach, but 15 minutes to the main sandy beach.
* 'Honesty Fridge' available so you can have drinks 24 hours.

Bad Points
* Food was poor, go elsewhere to eat.
* When the owner turned up, her and her kids took over all the communal areas and there was nowhere peaceful left to relax at the hotel.
* Staff didn't help with organising anything to do on the island or supplying contact details or any information

Bear in mind ...
* These are old houses and the bedrooms were designed with no windows to keep them cool, however there is air con.
* It is located at the top of a very steep hill. (Even if you are fit you will be out of breath by the time you reach the top of the hill)
* The island is covered in jungle so expect lots of wildlife including bugs and lizards, even in the hotel
* The showers are cold. This is very common for the island.

Isla Taboga is a small island. Don't worry about location as everything is within walking distance.Cerrito was ok until the owner turned up and took over the hotel. Perhaps try Verada Tropical as we ate here most nights and the food was generally ok.

"Overpriced and over rated"

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Debbie S. of Raleigh, NC, United States
Reviewed:   April 27, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This was not at all what I had envisioned. The pictures on the internet are truly misleading. The "apartment" consisted of an area with a table and a small kitchen with two bedrooms that you couldn't even turn around inside. The only good thing was the view--that was very nice. You could see Panama City across the water. The food was mediocre at best but Aristede and his wife were very helpful. It was like we were avoided by Cynthia M once it got close to the time for us to arrive. We had booked a room at another hotel and changed to this unit and I am truly sorry that we did that--especially after we stopped by the other place one afternoon.

"No es lo que esperábamos"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   Elizabeth Z. of San José, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   April 8, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Pensamos que la isla era más grande, con comercio, actividad nocturna, restaurantes alrededor de la playa, pero no encontramos nada de esto. Desde subir por las escaleras en el muelle hasta llegar al hotel fue difícil. Del hotel nos ofrecieron una persona que nos recogiera en el muelle, la cual nunca nos buscó, cuando la encontramos nos atendió de mala manera ya que parecía molesto porque su Jefe lo había enviado a hacer otras diligencias. En el hotel no conocimos a la persona con la cual tratamos inicialmente, además del inconveniente que la cocina la cerraban a las 7 de la noche, por la hubicación del mismo era difícil trasladarse a comer a otra parte. Por último el desayuno "incluído en el costo del hospedaje", fue muy pobre, al punto de que hubo que pagar los huevos por aparte, no tenía quesos ni jamón, únicamente era dos tipos de fruta, café y tostadas.

"Dreadful!!!!!!!"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Pascale M. of Marseille, France
Reviewed:   February 2, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Mauvaise surprise pour cet hôtel- Pas de fenêtre dans les chambres - après négociation, avons pu obtenir un appartement au confort très spartiate- Air cond très bruyant - chambre vraiment basique sans vue alors qu'il est situé sur une île- avons annulé la 2ème nuit - A déconseiller fortement - surprise du paiement de la taxe avnt le check-out alors qu'elle est incluse dans tous les tarifs de chambre au Panama. Petit déjeuner infect Seule mauvaise surprise au Panama, pays fabuleux et honnête contrairement à cet établissement!

"Cerrito Tropical... Paradise???"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Jill M. of Woodmere, United States
Reviewed:   March 20, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were picked up from the ferry which we really appreciated.
Our room was nice, however- on the website the view was described as part sea/part canopy. It should have been described as part sea/ part construction and dirt pile. I feel it is the proprietor's obligation to let guests know prior to their arrival that work is being done- as a courtesy.
We weren't offered any information or activities or even a map of the island, even when we told the owners we were taking a walk through the town.
We noticed the info on a bulletin board. I realize there is no concierge at a more casual place like Cerrito but it would have been great to know that there were kayaks available. We didn't discover that until we saw them locked up on our last evening.
On our last evening, we were the only guests. Cynthia, the owner took the ferry back to Panama City and the tv/ dvd , board games, refrigerator with bottled water, etc, was locked up around 5 and we had no access all evening. By the way, you cannot drink the tap water without a filter which we didnt have, so bottled water was the only option and we had none at that point.

As she left to catch the ferry, we informed Cynthia that our room was never cleaned or made up.
Someone finally did it but no one was too concerned about it.

Everything was a bit to lax and casual on the part of the proprietors. And not in a laid back island way- there is a fine line between casual and apathetic.

We chose the Cerrito Tropical because reviews of the Vereda were not favorable. I have to say after dining there and talking with the staff at Vereda, we certainly regret not staying at the Vereda Tropical instead.

At best Cerrito Tropical was a mediocre hotel experience that needs to take better care of its guests on an island that needs to appreciate its eco-tourism potential.

"long steep hill"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Jan K. of Baltimore,Maryland, United States
Reviewed:   April 30, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Cerrito Tropical is a clean but spartan hotel, it is located at the end of the island , a very long walk to the beach, it is at the top of a incredibly steep hill, the best thing about the hotel is the cook who also appears to manage the place, the owner was not there when we were there but comes on the weekends to the hotel, the cook only speaks Spanish but calls the owner who speaks English on a cell phone if there is a language barrier, the cook is very solictious and makes wonderful sauces to accompany the fish meals , the island and hotel is best visited in a day or two as there is not much to do, no nightlife, we only had internet part of the time on the island due to the weather, the balconies are shared with the exception of the large 3 bedroom unit on the 2nd floor, we would not stay here again because of the hill that one has to climb to get to the hotel,the ferry is a great ride to the island .. one can see all the huge ships waiting to go through the canal


1 - 9 of 9 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us