Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.7
 Rooms  4.5
 Cleanliness  4.7
 Location  3.9
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  4.4
 Total  4.5

"The hotel does not exist any more"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Roger R. of Kerkrade, Netherlands
Reviewed:   December 4, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I am not getting it, this hotel is closed, not like closed for renovation. but like, there is an abandoned building folly over grown with weeds.
And still there is a website of this hotel and I got a request for a review.
Well when you read this , book some thing else, better down town.

"Not Great for us"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Cori E. of Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed:   April 29, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2013     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We went here because of a personal recommendation from a couple we met in Bangkok. The husband was away for all but the last day. The wife was helpful at times but gave directions and distances that were not correct. It is a beautiful old house by the river but the place could use a good cleaning. When the husband returned his English is very good and he was most helpful and creative with the breakfast. We were never asked what we wanted for breakfast and she made the same friend eggs for my husband every day. I could not handle that and ate dried cereal with fruit.

"Optimal für Familien mit kleinen Kindern"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Anke B. of Düsseldorf, Germany
Reviewed:   April 1, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Es war so optimal, weil Amarin und Christoph (Betreiber des guesthouses) es geschafft haben, dass wir uns wirklich wie zuhause fühlen konnten. Alle die kleine kInder haben und wissen wie lautstark es zeitweise zugehen kann, wissen dies sehr zu schätzen. Insbesondere Amarin hat uns bei sämtlichen Fragen weitergeholfen, z.B. wo bekomme ich preiswert Sommersachen für mein älteren Sohn,wo gibt es medizinische Massagen bei Herzrythmusstörungen usw. Christoph und meine beiden Söhne hatten viel Gelegenheit sich zu necken und Fischen beim Fußballspiel zu zuschauen.
Das Haus selbst ist sehr großzügig gestaltet. Liegt leider in der Nähe vom highway und einer Disco.....aber, aber Amarin und Christoph haben sich jetzt ein eigenes guesthouse gekauft. Dieses liegt nicht mehr am Fluß, soll aber dafür sehr ruhig gelegen sein. Nähere Infos haben wir leider noch nicht. Sie wollen sich melden...

"excellent"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Cihang Z. of Shanghai, China
Reviewed:   March 28, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
amazing!!!the most interesting thing happen in CM!!!

"highly recommend"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Sandy B. of Alice Springs, Australia
Reviewed:   February 18, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i was really pleased that we stayed at River House. Amarin, who runs the guesthouse, is lovely and extremely helpful. There is free wifi, a computer for free use, cooked to order free breakfast and plenty of free water. Guest house is in a big old house right on the river and has very big sitting areas and verandahs, so great for relaxing or chatting with other guests or with Amarin. it is a bit out of the main tourist area which means that the restaurants are geared to locals and are very good. it costs about $2 - $3 to get into the centre by auto rickshaw. My partner and I try to choose places on the basis of quality and charm and River House has both at very reasonable prices.

"A kind and pleasant guesthouse at the bend of the ping river"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Maennchen H. of Waldesch, Germany
Reviewed:   February 4, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
On our 3-week Thai country tour we have stopped in Chiang Mai in January 2011 for 4 days. The "Chiang Mai River House" served us as lodging in Chiang Mai. The house at the ping river has only 6 guest rooms and is led by a charming young couple and the lady of the house does everything, that the guest feels well.

It is already a pleasant feeling to be already collected from the airport and taken to the quiet house at the river by the hosts. I and my wife have ourselves felt there very well and have promised to come back soon.

"Fantastic guest house"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   H L. of Suzhou, China
Reviewed:   January 9, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I really enjoyed staying in Chiangmai River House. It is outside of the old town, located in a very quiet spot right beside the river. The house is very clean and beautiful, the family style makes us feel like home. The room is very big and comfortable. We enjoyed the b breakfast at the terrace right in front of the river. I miss the morning sun and that quiet and relaxing time. Especially the owner is so, so, so nice. She made every effort and beyond to make sure we had a good time in Chiangmai. I would definitely come back here.

"Great place to stay"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Andrei S. of Capelle a/d IJssel, Netherlands
Reviewed:   January 8, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2011     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We really enjoyed staying at the River house in Chang Mai. The rooms are spatious and nicely decorated in thai style. The tropical garden behind the house is perfect to chill out. The hostess is extremely friendly and helpfull. The continental breakfast included in the price of the room is very delicious. A small disadvantage of this place is that it is reachable from the center of Chang Mai only by taxi or tuk tuk. However, we never spent more than five minutes finding one of them. If we will return to Chang Mai, we will stay again at the River House.

"Chiang Mai River House"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Claudia P. of Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed:   January 6, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I would recommend staying here to any and all. Amarin is a delightful hostess who is always willing to help. The River House is a home away from home. We could not have been happier there and, if we ever return to Chiang Mai we shall be sure to stay there again.
The River House is just outside of town but not so far as to be inconvenient. Amarin ensures that it is kept neat and tidy at all times and makes an amazing breakfast every morning. There are a few very good local restaurants within walking distance.
The River House is situated along the banks of a river and you can sit on one of the balconies and watch the river traffic pass you by. The area is also safe and clean.
All in all I would rate it as the best place we stayed in Thailand, even though it was not the most expensive. Value for money is outstanding.

"river house"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Laurent A. of paris, France
Reviewed:   January 4, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
hello
stayed one week in chiang mai river house in dec 2010 and I highly recommend it: nice and big house with view to the river and beautiful garden, hosts very friendly and attentive to your needs;
thanks
laurent


1 - 10 of 30 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us