Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.6
 Rooms  3.6
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  3.4
 Food / Dining  3.4
 Total  3.9

"Grand Hotel may exceed all expectations, but this did not"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Walter K. of Exeter4, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 22, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2012     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I like staying at this place, it is a good central position in a lovely area. One fault they share with all too many Chinese hotels is that they do not top up the breakfast buffet, so if you present yourself towards the end of the period the choice gets very limited. On this occasion, very little fruit: no bananas, no melon, no water melon.

"Nice place to stay"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Cary P. of Raleigh, United States
Reviewed:   August 8, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Your staff was very kind, helpful and incredibly honest and I loved it. The breakfast was just wonderful and I felt it was at a good price.

My only recommendation is to add more items to the children's play room. We hope to be there again in a few years and I would love to see more added.

"good facility but bad customer service"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Jane T. of Austin, TX, United States
Reviewed:   June 17, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was staying in the hotel with my son who is a european/chinese and looks like a european. I am Chinese and actually born and raise at Shamian - where the hotel located for 24 years till I went to US. Because I look Chinese and speak the language, every time I deal with the hotel staff - doorman, bellboy, dinner room staff, ect, I wam either totally ignored or even get quite a few hostile stare. But they treat my son - who is only 17, totally different!! He got the VIp treatment - big smile, hail for taxi, they open the door for him, on and on. It is so bad!!
There are two seperate buildings for the Victory Hotel, the Old and the New. They are about two blocks away from each other. The old building has more colonial charm and less busy. But the street fromt side of rooms are noisy. Get the back side rooms. The breakfast buffet food is servicible but not thing to be desired. Overall, it is ok experience, but I won't stary there again. The plain ignore and hostile stare from the door man are rather un-nerving even for a Chinese who grow up in the same nwighborhood!!!

"Great Location"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Javier T. of Nva Esparta, Venezuela
Reviewed:   April 29, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2011     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very pretty place Shamian Island, the hotel hs confortable beds (soft ones) and decent sized rooms, its great place for someone who doesnt care not to have a subway station so close, many restaurants near which is very convenient and nice walk by the Pearl River, I would definately stay again here.

"I guess you get what you pay for"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Canadian T. of Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   August 31, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at Victory Hotel as part of a family trip to Guangdong which was where my mom was born. The location of the hotel is pretty good. We could walk to the major shopping area and the stuff there is amazingly cheap - though the quality of the clothes are quite poor, but for $4-20 CDN what more can you really ask for.
The rooms are clean, but fairly old and some of them smell like smoke. But for the price and location I might consider staying here again. Overall I would give this a hotel rating of 3 - mediocre.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us