Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.8
 Rooms  4.6
 Cleanliness  4.8
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  5.0
 Food / Dining  4.4
 Total  4.6

"The best place to stay..."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   S G. of CT, United States
Reviewed:   April 30, 2012  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2012     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
HK Star World is so much better than the last hostel we had. The room is bigger and the flat screen tv comes in great. The bathroom is actually big enough to stand in! Also separate shower and sink area. Also free coffee, tea, sugar and milk. There is a water (hot and cold) dispenser for all the guest in the lobby. In general, this place is bigger and cleaner than others we stayed in. No crowds out front and no vendors in entrance way.

"Thanks!"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Sonia M. of Paranaque, Philippines
Reviewed:   November 24, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
First, our flight was delayed going to HK. We were stressed out because the the impatient driver of A21 airport bus asked us to leave the bus because we can't give exact fare! Some staff are unfriendly at the airport office across the waiting area for buses. No one wanted to change our 50HKD. Good that a Chinese couple in the long queue waiting for same bus tried to put their coins together. Second, the more we got tired because the direction to the hotel provided through the web is long cut! The next day, we discovered it's a lot easier to get off to Nathan Road corner or near Kimberly Road,straight to the guesthouse. Third, it was hard to find the guesthouse! The signboard of the hotel is very small! Many people do not know the hotel and irritable when asked, including men and women manning the small businesses along the TST sidewalks. T'was very late when we arrived. From ground floor going up, site is not attractive, but when we got to 9th floor, we were impressed! It's clean, bed clothes & towels are white. Queen size bed is comfortable & room is beautiful! Yuli, a very nice attendant, promptly served us cold water to refresh us. The guesthouse generously provides coffee and free Internet. The rooms were cleansed daily. Only, TV programs are limited to local shows. We can't understand the language except for 1 English channel.

"hk star world guest house"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Ruby D. of Laguna, Philippines
Reviewed:   November 15, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
good location, near Chinese restaurants that serve good and reasonably priced food. the rooms are bigger than others I have checked in the Internet. the bathroom is quite big as well. it's a small place with only five rooms. The receptionist/cleaning girl was very kind and helpful. our rooms were cleaned everyday and they have hot water in the shower as well. the only thing we didn't like was the entrance to the building. it was like entering a condemned building, old and filthy. but I would still recommend this hostel to budget conscious travelers. good value for your money.

"Bigger hostel rooms"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Erica C. of Xian, China
Reviewed:   January 8, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It's a great place to stay in TST (compared with Chunking and the like). What we loved about this place is the sense of security. It's more private as there are no people loitering in the lobby. It looks like you have a private elevator (we only shared the elevator twice during our 4-day stay). Staff is friendly and the place is clean. They have free tea/coffee in the lobby (you make your own). They also provide free use of computer for guests in the lobby and free wifi in most rooms.
The double room that we booked is bigger than most hostels we have stayed in before. The bathroom has a tub so the toilet area keeps dry, lavatory is also big and spacious.
It's near Kowloon park and numerous shopping malls. Also near the bus stop to HK airport and Elements mall (going to Shenzhen airport, we use the Elements in-town check in hall and take the bus from there to Shenzhen IA).
It's near the docks, ferries to Central. We didn't even have to take the subway during our stay, dodging the long underground walks and massive throng of people taking the subway. In Central, it's very easy to take the tram, sightseeing along the way.
There are numerous restaurants and two 7-11s along the street.
We'll definitely stay here again next time, highly recommended.

"HK Star"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Helen S. of glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   December 13, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Spent 2 nights here. Handy location just off Nathan Road, good for TST Metro. Basic guesthouse, but double room was clean & bigger than expected (ie plenty space for luggage), free wireless internet (computer for guest use available in hallway). On 9th floor of building (lifts are fine!) so not too bad for street noise. The 2 staff I met were friendly & helpful. Overall, decent budget choice!


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us