Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.2
 Service & Staff  4.2
 Food / Dining  3.8
 Total  4.3

"An amazing stay"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Yong E. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   August 19, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Wow, what an amazing place. We booked directly with the hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided that the old quarter was a preferred location opposed to a cold sterile larger chain hotel. Prior to us arriving we also got the hotel to book us some accomodation at other locations, a plane ticket from Hanoi and Hue and 2 short trips - one to Sapa and the other to Halong Bay. Everything was done promptly with regular updates on the bookings etc and very competitive prices.

Prearranged car was at Hanoi airport which dropped us at the hotel. Service was absolutely impeccable. I have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world due to my job and the staff at Hanoi Elegance are right up there with service delivery.

We stayed in a deluxe suite overlooking the main street, and I was a little worried about the noise but it all ceases around 10pm and in the mornings it was lovely to watch the city wake up and all the local shop keepers start their day. It all adds to the ambience of the location.

The attention to detail was wonderful from the in room computers through to the daily fruit platters, the cold drinks that were served when you arrived back at the hotel together with the genuine care for all visitors to their hotel. Our first trip was to Sapa and the staff arranged a transfer to the train station and even made sure we were in the right cabin. When we arrived back in Hanoi again a welcoming staff member was there (at 4.40am) to collect us and take us back to the hotel where they arranged an early morning coffee, breakfast and an opportunity to shower and change before we boarded the bus for our next trip to Halong Bay.

Returning from Halong Bay again we were warmly welcomed back with drinks and a car to the airport for our trip to Hue.

The service level is impeccable expertly managed by Customer Service Manager Michael. The reception staff speak excellent English as well as the lovely girls on the travel desk who looked after us extremely well. We even got a call in Hoi Ann just to make sure that our travel plans had all gone well and we were enjoying ourselves.

From an overall experience point of view I would suggest that some of the larger hotels around the world should send some of their staff to experience this delightful hotel and learn the true meaning of professional customer service. My young son who was travelling with me tells me that the best part of visiting Vietnam were the lovely staff who we met at the Hanoi Elegance. Keep up the good work and we hope to be back soon.

"A Kiwi at the Hanoi Elegance No.2"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Cristinager M. of NZ, New Zealand
Reviewed:   August 14, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My first review from our 15 day trip to Vietnam. I'm a cynical 20 years jaded international business traveler. I was unsure if the low cost, locally owned hotels in Vietnam would meet my expectations of a "bargain" price, while providing acceptable quality for an enjoyable holiday, versus using the usual international chain hotels.

I booked at this hotel because of their good reviews on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to say our experience was just great.

After booking several months before the trip, I had several communications about tours, internal flights and other questions. Their communication was so friendly and informative, you felt like you had made friends before you even arrived.
We noted a couple of times at breakfast that new arrival guests must have felt exactly the same as us, as they impromtu hugged Michael or one of the staff when they realised they were talking to the people they had been emailing with prior to arrival in Vietnam.

Each time we arrived back at the hotel from shopping or tour, the reception staff would recognise us walking up the steps, smile and hold out our room key as we walked down the lobby. The door guys smiled, the guys cleaning, cleaning . . always cleaning.... smiled....

From the time we arrived the staff were professional, but more than that, friendly as well. The room was clean...actually the hotel is so clean so clean, someone is always cleaning something. Oh yeah, I already said that......The room was well equipped and we got 2 free bottles of water each day - as most good hotels give you; - quite important in Hanoi heat and humidity.

There was fruit available on each floor for taking in the afternoon. Both rooms we had - we stayed twice, were pretty quiet. The aircon in the Suite was a little noisy, the aircon in our other room was whisper quiet. They arranged private drivers and cars for us and the friends we traveled with, as we didn't want to take big group tours.

We had Wifi in our room, I found one wifi channel worked perfectly, the other 2 connected, but we couldn't transmit data. Not sure if this is a hotel issue or my PDA, as we found the same issue at 3 hotels - multiple wifi channels, but only one which allowed actual data to transmit after connecting.

They also have free, fast internet on the in-room computer, which was great for getting news from home, checking local information, restaurants etc.

When I wrote my report for the hotel at the end of the stay, I struggled to find anything I could suggest to improve the place.

The customer service manager Michael Nguyen appears to effectively be the manager as the listed manager is apparently tied up getting Hanoi Elegance No.4 ready to open in September.

Michael's recommendation of a good restaurant "Ngon" was the best meal we had in Vietnam, - along with the same "Ngon" in Saigon.

At the point when we stayed HE3 was rated No.1 on trip advisor, HE2 (this one) was rated No.2 and the original Hanoi Elegance around the corner was rated No.7 These guys have worked out a good formula to create happy customers.

Would I stay there next time - I sure would. I wouldn't even bother to check other hotels, if their price was stable, only check that Michael is still there - or I'd go to whichever of their hotels he was running.

As a final note. We had a poor Halong Bay tour at a company listed on the hotel website, and upon our return for one night at the hotel, I think the boat staff had warned them we were unhappy. Michael and 2 staff were waiting as our car pulled up at the hotel, we were whisked inside so quick and upgraded to a suite that our feet barely touched the ground. The next morning Michael arranged some discount cash back for us as compensation while we checked out. It wasn't much, but the thought counted.

"Noisy hotel and keep away"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Jack L. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   April 9, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
All the picktures are different from reality. Scam and rid-off. NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL AT ANYPRICE.

"Hanoi Elegance Hotel"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Karen C. of helena, montana, United States
Reviewed:   January 17, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Our stay at the Hanoi Elegance Hotel was just that! Elegant! The hotel was clean, the bed hard, the computer service worked and the individual attention we received during breakfast was fantastic. I loved the variety of choices and that the omlettes were freshly made each morning. The staff was congenial and very helpful with Hanoi's directions and recommendations to eat. The request to secure the Water Puppet tickets on our requested date of performance was very much appreciated. Mr. Michael went our of his way to make sure all our travel necessities were handled. The pizza and water for our train trip South was a welcomed gesture. The Hanoi Elegance Hotel was a wonderful place to begin our jouney through Vietnam! Thanks for all your help.

"Wow!!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Neville B. of Kaitaia, New Zealand
Reviewed:   October 8, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place is fantastic. I rarely become enthusiastic about accommodatin but the staff here are fantastic. The only downside is there is no lift - my wife can't manage stairs easily. Everything else is terrific. The staff allowed us to check in really early. There was a fresh rose in a vase. A continually filled fruitbowl & knife. Not only computer access but a computer set up in every room, all inclusive. My only regret was we couldn't extend our stay. It is a very busy hotel.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us