Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"Very cheap and good location"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Laetitia L. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   May 2, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nicely located hostel and cheap (New Orleans is horrendously expensive) but don’t hope for peace and quiet when you are in the 12 people dorm ! Still, I had a lovely stay and the staff was very helpful. Would go again, definitely.

"Great Location!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Rachel D. of Chicago, United States
Reviewed:   April 11, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I’ve stayed at this hostel the last 4 times I’ve visited New Orleans. I still think it’s a great price and especially for the location in the Quarter. The staff has been very friendly each time, and I’ve it very helpful to be able to leave my suitcase there if I arrive before check in time. Very good place overall and I would and have recommended it to people.

"Would not recommend"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Alexandra H. of South orange, NJ, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The ISHP French quater house should be commended for their location, which is in easy walking distance to all of the French quater and many attractions, shops and restaurants and the friendliness of their staff who always asked what I had in that day when I was waiting in the foyer and were always happy to give a recommendation when I needed one. That’s about the end of the positive points, as the rest of the hostel was quite a let down. I have serious questions about how often or how well any of the rooms get clean as I found a condom rapper under my bed and the bathroom left me feeling dirtier when I left than when I walked in. Speaking of the bathroom, it has to be the worst I have ever found in a hostel; other than the aforementioned uncleanliness, it was also in disrepair and unkempt: the doors had trouble locking, the metal work was all rusted, there was always only 1 of 3 lightbulbs working, the shower curtain for the bathtub/shower looked disgusting and there was unfinished patches in the walls. I also wish that the couch in the common room would be changed as is looked very dirty and was super uncomfortable. The doors to most rooms also either didn’t lock or were extremely hard to lock which isn’t want you want in a foreign city. The last problem i had was the lack of any social outings; it is extremely common place for hostels to take groups of whoever wants to join in out with a person who works at the hostel but there was only a list of local events that were on in the area. This was disappointing more than anything, especially considering the price that we paid.

"Unreasonable policies"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   R H. of Austin, TX, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My phone was stolen and I was unable to get to the hostel or cancel my reservation. I was charged for the room anyway.

"IHSP French quarter house"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Kate G. of New Jersey, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The location of the hostel was very good. It is close to the French quarter, bourbon st and Jackson square. All of these locations are within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. However the cleanliness of the hostel was not great. Thebkitchen was a self clean area which is fine but the rooms were not cleaned while I was there. The sink in one of the bathrooms was clogged and the locks on the doors did not work properly. The breakfast was waffles, pancakes, oatmeal. A little more variety would have been better. I would recommend the hostel bedrooms and bathrooms being cleaned more regularly. I did not think it was value for money. It was expensive for the service you received.

"Love this place"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sheyla O. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   March 31, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Cannot say one bad thing about this place. Everything was great i will deff be coming back here

"Great hostel"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Peg B. of taos, United States
Reviewed:   March 27, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed at the very comfortable French Quarter House Hostel located in the heart of the French Quarter. We stayed in a private room with a private bath with our family of 3. The room was simple and beautiful, and the private bathroom was a nice surprise. The staff was super helpful and we loved being able to walk everywhere during our stay. The room is a bit pricey, but seemed fair considering the location and the privacy we had as a family.

"short stay"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Theodore A. of clinton, United States
Reviewed:   March 22, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The breakfast is nice, but the rest is meh. Bunk bed where making noises and staff was unwelcoming. Location is great though.

Since it was only 30 bucks a night, it still is OK for a short stay I guess.

"Outstanding"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Mel A. of Austin, TX, United States
Reviewed:   February 23, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
IHSP was exactly as advertised; we had an outstanding experience. We felt very welcome and safe. Thank you!

"IHSP French Quarter was great!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Courtney K. of Brooklyn, NY, United States
Reviewed:   February 20, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Staff was A+ - super helpful with tips on where to eat, what to see, hidden gems, etc. Thanks guys!!

Room was perfectly clean and despite being in a 12 person dorm during Mardi Gras, everyone was very incredibly considerate in terms of noise.

Location is excellent for all things French Quarter and is right off several bus stops if you're looking to head uptown or into Bywater/Marigny.

Would absolutely stay here again!


1 - 10 of 226 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us