Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"Very cheap and good location"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Laetitia L. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   May 2, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nicely located hostel and cheap (New Orleans is horrendously expensive) but don’t hope for peace and quiet when you are in the 12 people dorm ! Still, I had a lovely stay and the staff was very helpful. Would go again, definitely.

"Great Location!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Rachel D. of Chicago, United States
Reviewed:   April 11, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I’ve stayed at this hostel the last 4 times I’ve visited New Orleans. I still think it’s a great price and especially for the location in the Quarter. The staff has been very friendly each time, and I’ve it very helpful to be able to leave my suitcase there if I arrive before check in time. Very good place overall and I would and have recommended it to people.

"Would not recommend"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Alexandra H. of South orange, NJ, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The ISHP French quater house should be commended for their location, which is in easy walking distance to all of the French quater and many attractions, shops and restaurants and the friendliness of their staff who always asked what I had in that day when I was waiting in the foyer and were always happy to give a recommendation when I needed one. That’s about the end of the positive points, as the rest of the hostel was quite a let down. I have serious questions about how often or how well any of the rooms get clean as I found a condom rapper under my bed and the bathroom left me feeling dirtier when I left than when I walked in. Speaking of the bathroom, it has to be the worst I have ever found in a hostel; other than the aforementioned uncleanliness, it was also in disrepair and unkempt: the doors had trouble locking, the metal work was all rusted, there was always only 1 of 3 lightbulbs working, the shower curtain for the bathtub/shower looked disgusting and there was unfinished patches in the walls. I also wish that the couch in the common room would be changed as is looked very dirty and was super uncomfortable. The doors to most rooms also either didn’t lock or were extremely hard to lock which isn’t want you want in a foreign city. The last problem i had was the lack of any social outings; it is extremely common place for hostels to take groups of whoever wants to join in out with a person who works at the hostel but there was only a list of local events that were on in the area. This was disappointing more than anything, especially considering the price that we paid.

"Love this place"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sheyla O. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   March 31, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Cannot say one bad thing about this place. Everything was great i will deff be coming back here

"Great hostel"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Peg B. of taos, United States
Reviewed:   March 27, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed at the very comfortable French Quarter House Hostel located in the heart of the French Quarter. We stayed in a private room with a private bath with our family of 3. The room was simple and beautiful, and the private bathroom was a nice surprise. The staff was super helpful and we loved being able to walk everywhere during our stay. The room is a bit pricey, but seemed fair considering the location and the privacy we had as a family.

"short stay"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Theodore A. of clinton, United States
Reviewed:   March 22, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The breakfast is nice, but the rest is meh. Bunk bed where making noises and staff was unwelcoming. Location is great though.

Since it was only 30 bucks a night, it still is OK for a short stay I guess.

"Outstanding"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Mel A. of Austin, TX, United States
Reviewed:   February 23, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
IHSP was exactly as advertised; we had an outstanding experience. We felt very welcome and safe. Thank you!

"IHSP French Quarter was great!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Courtney K. of Brooklyn, NY, United States
Reviewed:   February 20, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Staff was A+ - super helpful with tips on where to eat, what to see, hidden gems, etc. Thanks guys!!

Room was perfectly clean and despite being in a 12 person dorm during Mardi Gras, everyone was very incredibly considerate in terms of noise.

Location is excellent for all things French Quarter and is right off several bus stops if you're looking to head uptown or into Bywater/Marigny.

Would absolutely stay here again!

"Mardi Gras in the French Quarter"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Dianne S. of Delta, BC, Canada
Reviewed:   February 18, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel was a great place to stay. My friend and I arrived at 2:30 in the morning, and the woman working the front desk was still awake and alert! She got us sheets and towels, and let us into the room. Considering this hostel is in the French Quarter, it's a really inexpensive hostel - especially during Mardi Gras. We loved that we could go out and easily come back to change (due to drastic weather changes), use the wifi (for maps and other things), and rest before heading back out! All the staff are amazing, and so were the other guests - super important when you're sharing a room and a bathroom with 9 other people.

"Friendly, best location"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Eskedar S. of Ethiopia, Ethiopia
Reviewed:   February 9, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Excellent option if you don't want to spend a lot on a hotel. The location is right on the French quarter where there are so many bars and restaurants. The breakfast waffles are great. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. On my first day Conor took us to bar crawl and he made sure everyone is having good time. One thing to complain about is the water pressure in the showers.


1 - 10 of 219 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us