Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.3
 Rooms  4.1
 Cleanliness  4.3
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.5
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.4

"Amazing"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Sophia V. of California, United States
Reviewed:   January 2, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2013     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel felt like a home. The place was clean and the staff was really friendly and provided lockers for us. It was close to ATMs and the gu ting MRT station which was super convenient. I've traveled to a lot of places in Asia, but this is by far one of the best hostels I've stayed at. Would definitely recommend.

"Chocolate Box Backpackers"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   P Z. of WI, United States
Reviewed:   January 2, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2013     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at this place for 4 days. Although the directions were pretty simple to find this place, the name of the title is not very visible. I enjoyed my stay here because I made use of interacting with the different people who also stayed there. Everyone was very friendly and it's also a convenient place to get to night markets, art museums, etc. It's about a 5-10 min walk to the Guting station (MRT). I found the owner to be helpful with directions. He doesn't speak English. There's also lots of brochures and maps in the hostel that people can just take or use to help them navigate around Taipei. I definitely think this is a decent place if you want to go cheap and stay short term.

There wasn't much that I didn't like. Although there is one problem I could think of. There consists of two bathrooms. Only one of them was decent. The other one just smelled weird and the shower in that bathroom isn't very good. There also wasn't a very good shower schedule so sometimes there's a line to use the bathroom.

"Chocolate Box is my favorite!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Rudolph J. of Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Reviewed:   December 25, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2013     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Chocolate Box Backpacker Hostel was a good experience. The location is walking distance to a large university and open shopping market. The staff at the Chocolate were friendly and helpful. The hostel is clean and quiet at nights. I will definitely stay there on any future visit to Taipei.

"Best Hostel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sean G. of Tustin, United States
Reviewed:   December 11, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This is a great hostel central to Taipei near the Main Station. Everything was clean and well maintained, comfortable, and well staffed. I will stay here no question on my next visit.

"Great Hostel!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Alyssa J. of Grapeview, WA, United States
Reviewed:   November 29, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This is a wonderful small hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hostel itself is amazingly cozy. The common room felt like I was hanging out in my friend's living room and it was a great place to meet people. Will be returning when I am in Taipei!

"good location, average hostel"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Jo K. of amsterdam, Netherlands
Reviewed:   November 27, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Location and smoker friendly balcony are brilliant, rest is average. Especially the 6p female dorm was very small and basic... no own light, no table or whatever to put your stuff on or in. 2 or 3 in the dorm was doable, 5 was very cramped and uncomfortable. No breakfast, no staff after 8pm. En their lunch break might take an extra hour... clean enogh, two bathrooms works out if the hostel is not full. E.g. works out for low seasin but i would rather stay somewhere else if it is fully booked.

"Wonderful experience"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Estela I. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Reviewed:   November 4, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2013     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I strongly recommend this hostel: good location, excellent people, and nice experience all in all.

"A good experience"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Hin Ki T. of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Reviewed:   November 3, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It's a good one

"A wield place"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   Cheng-Shung H. of New Taipei city, Taiwan
Reviewed:   October 21, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed Choalate for over six nights in a 8-person dormitory. The backpackers stayed there from mainland, local, England, US, etc. when I was there. Asian youth (from a certain nation) went back to hostel very late and made a lot of noises, it seems that they are full of endless energies to vent or they do not know to keep quietly in the midnight. Absurdly, my research files/data of personal disk were hecked and all my files in directories were gone (at least 500 files lost) when I used the desk computer offered by the Chocolate.
It is not a pure businessman. despite a place to sleep, I never had a good sleep for a single night.
When I was there, there're two young juvenilles on duty. The two guys were friendly.

"Great Hostel...Great Location"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jennifer H. of Michigan, United States
Reviewed:   October 15, 2013  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Amazing hostel! I stayed here for just three nights and really loved it. The location is really great. It's near a busy university area so there are all kinds of coffee shops and little cafes nearby. The hostel is also off on one of the side roads so it's pretty quiet. It has a really nice and homey feel to it and everyone was really friendly. If you're looking for a hostel to meet people in, this is a great choice! The only downside would be that there are only two bathrooms. When the hostel was full it was annoying to wait to have to shower or use the bathroom. Overall, I would definitely stay here again!


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 153 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us