Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  4.1
 Rooms  4.1
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.4
 Security & Safety  4.1
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  3.7
 Total  4.2

"It was agreeable to stay here"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Irina S. of St-Petersbourg, Russia
Reviewed:   May 10, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Romeinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
At first, I’d like to say my thanks to hostel staff – they are very friendly and hospitable.
Hostel is situated very close to Central railway station and to the centre of town.
(For example: an hour before my departure I was still in Gallery of the Academia. Then I came to hostel to take a cup of coffee and take away my backpack. And I reached the station 15 minute before arrival of my train.)
Room was spacious, light and clean, with a wash-basin and mirror. They gived me a big towel in addition to bed linen. Lavatory was clean, with toilet paper and liquid soap.
It was agreeable to stay here. I'd like to come back.

":)"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   WANG P. of Montpellier, France
Reviewed:   March 27, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Thank you so much. I have spend a great time in your hostel.:)

"Cheap and good hostel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Changhun L. of Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   February 23, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Italyinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nice and kind owner and manager! Nice place for our family. Very near to the train station and city center.

"Locanda Starlight, Florence"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Denise L. of Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed:   October 9, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Italyinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were unhappy with this accommodation. It was very disorganised and not really clean. The towels had a smell as if they had not been washed. The bathroom was not cleaned daily and when we went to check out the manager was no where to be found. Went to the markedt and came back and then had to let him know how much we owed! Cash was preferred despite the website saying credit cards accepted. We insisted on paying by credit and were able to do so. I am sure at the same price we could have found better accommodation.
On the plus side it was walking distance to everywhere.

"Being Lock out when back"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Grace P. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   June 8, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Italyinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The place was quite near to the train station. The guy gave us details of where to visit on the map that he gave us. But he forgot to give us the key.

He didn't tell us that there will be no one around at night. Maybe he's too engrossed with my friend and wanted my friend to be his girlfriend. So we are lock out when we were back. And we got scolding from his neighbour for pressing the doorbell.

We made an international call to the contact number stated in the booking and she's not really helpful. We are using international call and it's not cheap and yet she wants us to call back again for her to check. We call back the 2nd time then she sms us the code to get in. She should have gave us the code when we called her the first time and not lock out for half an hour.

"bom lugar"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Luiz E. of curitiba, Brazil
Reviewed:   May 31, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Portugues-Portuguese):
ambiente tranquilo, bem gerenciado e localizado

"Locanda Starlight - fabulous"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Georgina W. of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   May 22, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Italyinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed in this hostel for a week with my sister and it was great.
Before going I emailed Sabrina for directions and she sent a detailed route from the station to the hostel.
There was a little kitchen we could use which was great, not having to eat out every night saved some money, there was also internet access available.
On the whole I really enjoyed my stay, everything was clean, the location is excellent (5-10 minute walk from the central train station), Rolando is a gem - offering coffee in the morning, recommending places to go (and not to!) and generally being an all-round star.
Highly recommended.

"Wonderful place to stay."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jenny M. of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   April 11, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This was definitely the best (and coincidentally cheapest) place we stayed at in Italy. The room was big, bright and comfortable. There were two well equipped kitchens and the owners/staff were really friendly and helpful with suggestions of where to go. Was also conveniently located close to the train station and near the attractions. it's the one place I'm recommending to everyone who is planning to go to Florence.

"My best hostel experience"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Anne P. of Providence, United States
Reviewed:   February 2, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My friend and I stayed here three nights, and we loved this place. There are only five rooms, and each sleeps a maximum of two people, so we had our own room. The room had two beds made up with linens, a dresser, table and chairs, and a private sink equipped with soap. We also received towels. It was very private and felt really safe. Additionally, the Locanda Starlight is extremely clean. I am very picky about this and I was beyond impressed. The proprietor is a very sweet woman who works hard to maintain her hostel. She washed the floors daily, and the bathroom always smelled faintly of bleach. When we arrived she was boiling the shower heads! Everything was fresh (it was recently renovated) and bright, very comfortable. Additionally, the proprietor gave us excellent recommendations for things in Florence.
I have recommended this hostel to everyone I know who is planning a trip to Florence.
Food is not provided by the hostel, although the neighborhood around it has ample cheap places to eat. Additionally, the Via Guelfa is home to about four internet points and five minutes' walk from the Duomo, and many sites and restaurants.

"Best Hostel I've ever stayed in"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Kelsey B. of Huntington Beach, CA, United States
Reviewed:   December 16, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel was by far, the nicest, cleanest, roomiest hostel we stayed in. It's more like an apartment/hotel because your rooms have queen sized beds and a closet and you get a key so you can come and go, no sharing of rooms with strangers or crammed bunk quarters. The woman running the place is also very nice and helpful. I had blisters all over my feet from walking so much, and when I asked for a bandaid, she found me one and even bent down and put it on my blister for me. HOW SWEET! Anyway- I would definitely reccomend this place to anyone staying in florence. It's not far from the main attractions, and is nice and quiet if you want to get a good night's sleep. Only drawback is there is no breakfast provided, but hey, you are in florence, theres plenty of yummy food to go eat.


1 - 10 of 14 reviews  Next 4 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us