Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.7
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  3.3
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.0
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  3.9

"PRIME LOCATION. FRIENDLY STAFF. ENJOYABLE STAY."

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Tara L. of Alberta, Canada
Reviewed:   October 4, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at Maria Sabinas for a week in Sept 2009. #1- Location. Literally "meters" from the Beach, 5 minute walk to the Main Bus Stop, 10 minute walk to the Night Clubs... and it's just off 5th Avenue aka "main shopping/restaurant district". Across the street is a 24 Hour Convenience Store- open all day& all night, PLUS a Very Convenient Bank Machine (as they dont accept credit cards at the hostel). I would HIGHLY recommend this to SINGLE or young travellers, as all the staff can speak English-- and they're ALL super friendly! You'll most-likely make friends very easily. I stayed in the "all-girls dorm". YES- They have Lockers (they also provided me with a Lock) and very coooool Air Conditioning. My room had a Balcony with a view of the Ocean- lovely! It was QUIET in my room at night- no noise. Very comfortable, and very respectful and friendly roommates. Bed Sheets, Towels, Soap, and Toilet Paper were provided and changed daily. Toilets were scrubbed daily, too. Free Breakfast at 7am-10am, with papayas, bananas, watermelon, tea/coffee/milk, and white or brown bread w/ strawberry jam. There's Free Purified Water Anytime too (except after 10pm when they lock the kitchen). You'll meet travellers ages 20-35 from all over the world... like Europe, USA, Australia. There's also lotsa places to "socialize"- including the kitchen, the internet table (by the front desk), and on the 3rd Floor there's an AMAZINGLY COOL Outdoorsy-type STRAW-HUT aka open-air "lounge" area w/ couches n' chairs, where they serve FREE Booze at 10pm! Way to sit, sip, and socialize!!! :) As for level of comfort, I felt very safe here. As for the "looks" of the rooms-- Keep in mind, this is a Hostel in Mexico...helllloo!... If you are A SEASONED hostel traveller... you know "to expect" bunk-beds with plastic covered mattresses... so this should NOT phase you, if you are INFACT used to staying at hostels anyways... I've stayed at many hostels around the world, so I thought this was ACCEPTABLE. This is Mexico too- so ALSO please -- dont expect 5 star looking bathrooms... the ones at Maria Sabinas have a basic sink, a toilet, and a stand-up shower. EACH room has a bathroom that looks "kinda-old" but ok for the most part. Yes- there IS Hot Water. =) In every room also, there is a TV, and outlets to charge your cel phone. The rooms are very basic- bunkbeds, a tv, airconditioning, and lockers, and a few tables to put your stuff. PLUS a balcony. All in all, for the price- and the location- and the AMAZINGLY friendly staff - (the friendliest staff from ANY hostel I've been to in the world!!!) - and the NEW people you meet - and the socializing - the airconditioned QUIET dorms with the beautiful balcony views - the free "all-you-can eat" breakfast - free booze at night - CHEAP TOURS at the front desk as well to "Chitzen Izta" - Close to Bus - Close to Beach - Close to Shopping - 10 Min walk to Nightlife - Again SUPER Friendly Staff-- GREAT LOW PRICE--- Seriously, if you're a young traveller looking for a nice, relaxing, and fun time in Playa Del Carmen- at a place that is safe and inexpensive, with friendly people, at a PRIME location, then I would TOTALLY RECOMMEND MARIA SABINA'S !!! - Tara from Canada :)

PS There are NO BUGS that I saw, the cleaners were in DAILY to change my sheets/towels and scrub the toilet, and yes, my room was QUIET at night... keep in mind, I was in the "all-girls x4 beds room." :-)

PPS The only thing I would recommend is that they take lil more extra time to scrub the bathroom walls & floors for a "newer, cleaner look" and "seal up" the teeny-tiny window on the top of the bathroom door, and, I might suggest newer-lookin' towels too! =) Also, it would be nice to have access to the purified water in the lounge too, besides the kitchen, which closes at 10pm. Maybe even a cage for the storage downstairs by front desk, although I know Playa del Carmen is generally safe and the staff here at Maria Sabinas are very good at watching over. :)

"THE hostel in Playa del Carmen"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Dorothee P. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   March 18, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very well situated - nice atmosphere and above all the staff are very cool.

"Credit Card-triple swiped!"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   T B. of Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed:   December 25, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Mexicoinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Place was really divey. The only staff that spoke English was very HIGH, fumbled with credit card..dropped it, then charged $20 over! Dropped key to the room several times. (only gave 1 key)
Toilets didnt allow toilet paper..so, had to use shower to clean up. To boot, got credit card bill and saw they charged 2 more times 20 days apart from the 1st night I spent there!! $213 for a $50 room!! BEWARE!!

"Nice located hostel with excellent staff"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Daniel K. of Berlin, Germany
Reviewed:   October 24, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
-

"Maria Sabina Hotel-Playa del Carmen"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Lisa G. of Reggio Emilia, Italy
Reviewed:   August 13, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Italiano-Italian):
Ospitalità ottima, buon confort e pulizia in camera.
Comodità per la vicinanza al centro ed alla spiaggia.
Ambiente giovane.

"Excellent service"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Doris S. of Quebec, Canada
Reviewed:   February 2, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The price is ok for the service


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us