Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  4.1
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  4.3
 Service & Staff  4.2
 Food / Dining  4.1
 Total  4.2

"Classic bait and switch"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Joshua T. of Laurel, United States
Reviewed:   August 23, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Just to start the people at this place are very strange. Ok let's talk about the actual place. It looks great in the pics, upon check in you get too your room to realize its an empty room with no or dresser the bed was hard as a rock and had hair in it. There isn't a bathroom in the actual room but it's down the hall and shared by everyone on that floor.. on top of that there is no a.c. or fan and if your lucky you'll be able to wedge in a parking spot. Was there just long enough to find another room and asked for a refund that were compleat snobs and would only give me the last day back even though I had just paid for it.. all in all of your looking for a place to rob you and leave you too find somewhere else too stay this is the place for you though.. I ended up at the motel 6

"The Best Place!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Leah S. of Cincinnati, United States
Reviewed:   August 7, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I've traveled a decent amount and have utilized various types of accommodation, such as hotels, motels, hostels, Couchsurfing, Workaway projects, etc.. and the Mile High Guest House was the best place I have stayed at by far.

In my opinion, the price is more than reasonable for the quality of the facilities, the proximity to cool places in Denver, and (most importantly) the friendliness and engaging nature of the staff who encourage people to connect to one another. The staff host various events on a regular basis for guests to join in and meet one another (from pub crawls at local spots to preparing interesting dishes together), and in no time I was feeling part of a diverse group of like-minded people rather than spending my time relatively isolated.

The building itself is incredibly beautiful and historic, even moreso than in the photos online. Everything is very clean, too. The staff provide an abundance of information on local restaurants and attractions, and I really felt like they were excited to tell me about Denver and their favorite places instead of brushing me off or treating it as an annoyance.

The actual location is in East Colfax, which seems to have a negative reputation, but I never once felt unsafe or suspicious (and I walk alone a lot). However, I grew up in a similar area, so maybe I wasn't as concerned about safety issues. It was very easy to get bus access, too, which I depended upon a lot during my stay.

Overall, Mile High Guest House was an awesome and truly unique experience, with a very personable and inclusive atmosphere that I didn't really expect to find in American hostels!

"Staying at Mile High Guest House!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Christopher B. of Abilen, United States
Reviewed:   August 2, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The stay was amazing! We met some great people that we will never forget and the house was very beautiful and very inviting.

"Great stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Marshall D. of Detroit michigan, United States
Reviewed:   July 11, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very clean nice people smoke friends close to stores

"Mile High hostel good but not great"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   John H. of Ann Arbor, MI, United States
Reviewed:   July 10, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Should provide better info on getting around Denver from here using public transportation, particularly downtown (Union Station, 16th Street Mall) and other popular destinations. Staffers weren't very helpful in this regard.

The narrow metal bars one must climb to reach upper bunks are a bit of a pain.

The overhead lighting in the living area on the main floor is dim, making it difficult to read. A lamp in the corner would help.

It was rather warm in the room I stayed in on the 3rd floor, especially the first night. Fortunately, the ceiling fan was blowing directly on me in the upper bunk!

"end up not sleeping there"

User Rating:  2.3
Reviewer:   Yuxin H. of Lake in the Hills/IL, United States
Reviewed:   June 26, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Arrived late after 11pm, nobody was working in the front desk. Received an email about how to get to my room. Confused by the instruction, don't even know there is a third floor. So I didn't find my bed. Seems no AC. So I was charged one night but I didn't sleep there. I can't comment on the facility since it was dark for me to see. Overall, not a very pleasant experience

"Beautiful House"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Lauryn K. of Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed:   June 19, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The guesthouse is a old mansion close to downtown. It's a very friendly and social place with great staff. They are so helpful and knowlegable. The dorm rooms are so beautiful, our 8 bed dorm room had the most beautiful ceiling with cool wallpaper and a old fireplace. The beds are comfortable and the door has a automatic lock on it so it was very safe. We had a wonderful stay meeting new people and the potluck dinner was great.

"Wonderful place to stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sam S. of Philadelphia, United States
Reviewed:   June 19, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I loved staying at the Mile High House! I was here for three days to explore the Denver area. The house is beautiful and the rooms are great. The staff is very friendly and helps with anything and everything. Denver has some great hiking and they know all kinds of places to go in the area. The house is in a good location in the city also, it's not too far to downtown Denver and there are a lot of great restaurants and bars around. The bar crawl event on Friday was super!

"Mile High House-great place to stay!"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Samantha A. of Albuquerque, United States
Reviewed:   June 17, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We really enjoyed our stay here. The house is lovely and the room was comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Close to everything!

"Mile High House in Denver"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Ken R. of Henderson, United States
Reviewed:   June 17, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I occupied a private room (Room #1). For the price paid, I felt the accommodations were as expected. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was good although the area also hosts a group of "Street Urchins" that live in the alley behind the property. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.

Room #1 needs something to hang clothes on and some other furnishings that would allow the guest to keep some of their items off the floor. Bring a power strip because there is only 1 available outlet. Bathroom on floor 2 could easily accommodate a table or surface to provide some counter space to simplify the process.

I'm not one for a hostel but for a private room, (more B&B like), this property served my purposes well. With a few inexpensive additions., this would appeal to a much greater group of travelers.


1 - 10 of 21 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us