Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.5
 Rooms  3.2
 Cleanliness  3.9
 Location  4.1
 Security & Safety  3.6
 Service & Staff  3.6
 Food / Dining  3.3
 Total  3.5

"Just OK"

User Rating:  2.6
Reviewer:   Zsuzsanna K. of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Reviewed:   August 27, 2011  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   August 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Having been in Hong Kong for work many times should have prepared me for the size of the room, but the room we stayed in can barley be called a " room". It is a mirracle they got the bad i there..The bed was too smal - even for me ( I am 168 cm ) , but my boyfriend could not fit at all. they offered to get a China visa for us, so we filled out the form, but they forgot to tell, that they would get one on the border, which is only valid for 1 month, so we had to cancel it and go fix it ourself - which was all right, but lost us a day ( believe me when are trying to arrange several visas in one week, a day lost is a big deal ) ...We have been traveling on a budget for 7 month now and this was by far the most disappointing place ever!

"Clean but careful about surroundings"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Anil Kumar K. of Delhi, India
Reviewed:   April 25, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Overall experience in this guest house has been pleasant. It's clean and caretaker is accommodative and willing to help. But the approach to the guest house is from the ground floor and in the place it is located looks a bit disturbing. Its advantage is strategically located and well connected to the happening places of Hong Kong. I would suggest visitors to stay but be a little guarded.

"unsafe"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Rhan J. of pasig, Philippines
Reviewed:   December 18, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i would not recommend this place because our luggages were stolen just inside the reception area.what a very bad experience in this hostel...i would really not suggest this place specially to my friends and family.

"New International Guest House."

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Warwick A. of Cedar Vale, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed:   November 18, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My wife and I found the New International Guest House very clean . The room had a TV and fridge and suited us. We found the lady who cleaned our room very friendly and she spoke very good english and helped us with our many enquiries. Transport was basically just outside the front door. The walk to see the Symphony of Lights took less than 10 minutes. The only proiblem we found was the wait and congestion in the lifts at times. I would recommend this guest house.

"chungking at its best!!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Frederic B. of Duesseldorf, Germany
Reviewed:   November 10, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
First of all: To all these People who complain about that Chungking Mansions are not compareable to 5-Star Hotels. Seriously, what do you Expect?? Every single Hotel/Hostel inside the Chungking Mansion is made for Backpacker or Single Persons who try to enjoy HK and make the best out of it! Not to mention that even every travel guide about HK explains exactly that.

Now as for the "New International Guest House" - I was really happy with the choice that I made. From the first Day when I checked in, Ms. Kam and the rest of the Staff were welcoming me really nicely, and showed me my room. The Room was small, but really really clean. I didnt have a single Encounter with any Cockroaches, Bugs, or etc. while my 1-Week Stay there.

As many other People mentioned, YES - the elevator is really slow, and you have to wait sometimes up to max. 3-4 Mins. Either ways, it takes probably the same Time to walk down the Stairs from the 11th floor, so its all good.

The location is right in the heart of HK and I'd say you get the best for your Money if you stay at New International Guest House.
I stayed two times before inside Chungking Mansions, once in " Jinn's Ti Guesthouse" and once inside "New Kowloon Guesthouse" ...but both of these were quite dirty and rather expensive compared to New International Guesthouse.

"Very clean room and friendly staff"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Charmaine D. of Mumbai, India
Reviewed:   November 3, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The New International Guest House was a very clean place to stay at compared to some of the rooms we saw at Chung King. The staff were also very friendly.

"Hong Kong"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Jacqueline P. of Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed:   October 22, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The New International Guest House is an amazing place to say in Hong Kong. Its a pretty hectic place with lots of stuff going on but the staff are very friendly, warm and hospitable. The lodgings are basic and very clean and compact and quite cheap for Hong Kong. The Guest House is very central and is about 10 minute walk from the tourist information centre in Kowloon. A great experience and a definite recommendation from me.

"Getting to and from"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Joan S. of Aucklland, New Zealand
Reviewed:   October 19, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were only looking for a one night stop over and this served the purpose. The main problem was the lift access to the 11th floor. The lift was small so you normally had to wait and sometimes the lift would not stop at the floor as it was full. As the room had no proper window, maybe we should have paid a bit more and got a room you could see out of but as we were only there for a short time it did not worry us too much.

"Recommended"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   VASILIKI S. of ATHENS, Greece
Reviewed:   September 16, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We would like to thank INTERNATIONAL GUEST HOUSE for the service. We had very good time in Hong Kong. I recommend International Guest House as it is located in the central area of HK - Tsim Sa Tsui, and very convenient, with metro station just opposite and all famous shopping brands nearby and on walking distance. The staff was helpful and everything was easy. Excellent value for money. Hope to see you again!!!

"Overall a funny experience..."

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Olivier B. of Zürich, Switzerland
Reviewed:   September 6, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Tiny but clean room with aircon and TV, no daylight, friendly but weird stuff, great location in the fucked up but cultic Chungking Manison building, which houses about 50 Guesthouses. Cheapest accomodation in Kowloon.


1 - 10 of 11 reviews  Next 1 result




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us