Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.8
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.6
 Location  3.9
 Security & Safety  4.1
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"Cultral Center of Rio de Janeiro – Brazil"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Tony B. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   December 20, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2010     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed here once before and I saw Edward Norton filming the Hulk movie at the front door of the Hostel.

Another day I saw Manu Chao having a beer outside the Hostel, I even seen snoop dog, making move on some chick.

This place is the craziest and coolest party place to be. (Especially on Friday nights)

It’s simple, come to SambaVilla if you want to party on the weekend, go elsewhere if you don’t

5 STARS for me

"great prices and the spot for weekend parties great irish pub"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Naomi L. of buenos aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   April 14, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i was at this hostel last year as i travel to brazil alot for my student work projects they have added an irish pub on there first floor its fantastic with great food and music the hostels had a bit of a remodel at the reception ect looks really cool and is as cheap as ever i love this hostel i think it one of the best in rio for price,cleanlyness,service.

"samba villa owner great"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Patti L. of santiago, Chile
Reviewed:   August 16, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
this email is to let you know the other side of the story with the so called threat from the owner.
i was at reception with some of my group when this danish guy was going to check out he was really agressive with the receptionist because he didnt have reais to pay in hed been there as long as i had and KNEW it was 19 REAIS A NIGHT he just was shity because he didnt want to go to the bank and so she tried to explain to him the price is in reais and is 19 a night and theres a sign outside that is on half the building that CLEARLY EXPLAINS THIS and that the hostel is FROM 9 USD a night taking into account the exchange rate and the shity dollar its very CLEARLY written FROM 9 USD.
so the receptionist asked us to wait while he yelled at her so she called the owner at home and this guy continued to yell on the phone to the owner.
i dont know what was said by the owner but if he did tell the guy he was going to come and beat the shit out of him we all would have cheered! he deserved this as he was a nasty bit of work!
and to clarify the club is on the weekends and not till 6am and i tell you he was happy drinking it up and dancing with his mates till he had to go out of his way to pay!and his mates were not complainig they looked embrassed.
so in the deffence of the owner he was great to our group,he walked us to the bank waitied for us to get our money out at night,helped us book our bus tickets.
its clear on the website and flyers its 19 reais a night.

this hostel is great value for money and great service

"Private Gay parties & threats from the manager"

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Rasmus K. of Köln, Germany
Reviewed:   June 17, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
"Listen to me you little peace of shit I´m gonna come down there and beat the shit out of you"!! This was the last goodbye over the phone from the hostel manager. When checking out I assumed I was to pay the price of 9 $US, the price listed at the reception. However, suddenly I couldn't pay in dollars, then I tried to pay the equivelant amount in Reales. I was told this was to be 19 R, now I'm not a math genius but there is no way in hell 9 dollars equals 19 R - it equals 14,5. Not trying to be an asshole and yet not trying to get screwwed over on my low budget I asked if I could be the actual amount of 9$ in reales as this was the given price. From here it went to shit; at first the hostel manager came with lots of lame excuses and went on to threaten to beat me up instead of simply apologize for listing the wrong price.
Besides that the place trew a private gay party the last night I was there so that the only place the guest could stay was a small room with only 2 couches and street children throwing rocks through the windows. The place is generally a party zone with an inhouse Club and techno pumping from 6 pm to 6 am, which can be fucking brilliant but when this is everyday its hard to catch some sleep. Anybody from the club can walk upstairs to rooms, so much for security. I know this is gonna sound freaking bitching but you cant lie on your webpage saying there are several computers with free internet when there is just one(sometimes) in the bar/loud club and the tiny kitchen you walk into aint that featured on their webpage. As far as safety goes, being threatned by the owner isn't that reassuring and besides that a local guy who is a friend of the place without any reason smashed a bottle in the face of a guy living here but was still allowed in the club 2 days later. A walking hazard!! good fun for a crazy night with great caiprinhas but a messud up place to try and stay for more than one night.

"great cheap acomodation"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Penny B. of rio, Canada
Reviewed:   April 11, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
this is the the best hostel we have stayed in in rio
the hostels in copacabana are over priced and have shitty staff
we found samba villa from another tourist on the bus in copacabana who was staying at samba villa we went to look first as we havent had a good experince with hostels
and we loved in 19 reais free breakfast airocnditioning in the rooms free
great bar really friendly staff loved it fully recomend it

"hostel bonita"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Bee L. of santo domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewed:   November 15, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
this hostel was bonita!!!oh la la
it was a pleasure to stay here for 1 month while i studied here i will be back
helpful people great atmosphere
and so cheap

"value hostel"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Carson O. of melbourne, Australia
Reviewed:   November 12, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
this place was a great find,found it on the lonlely planet blogs,just arrived here 2 days ago staying 2 weeks then going to cuba but ill be back here for carnival great hostel friendly staff and the owner elvis is cool,helpful.
love the bar,the rooms are nice
love the resturant around the corner so cheap i swear ive packed on a few pounds
this hostels got it all

"great cheap hostel"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Bianca L. of buenos aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   November 6, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Pilgrimreservations.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
hello,
we stayed at the samba villa hostel is was a very great place very friendly staff and helpfull with everything,i loved the reception with the chandaliers you not see this often.lapa area is very good with cheap food and nice markets,the weekends are great lots of people in the streets partying and the hostel is great we will come back here

"samba villa hostel a great hostel value for money and service"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Catherine V. of las vegas, United States
Reviewed:   September 30, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
hey,id like to say that samba viila hostel is a great place and one you dont see much of theses days as its not only a really cool ,clean beautiful hostel but it is cheap and has great service YOU DONT GET THAT ENOUGH ANYMORE!
i cant say enough about the place it rocks


1 - 9 of 9 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us