Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.1
 Cleanliness  4.6
 Location  4.7
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.5

"We stayed at Rising Dragon in July 2007"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Jmadl A. of Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed:   August 23, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed at Rising Dragon in July 2007, and despite not enjoying it that time, we knew it was clean and not badly located, so on a whim booked again hours before arriving in Hanoi.

It has improved significantly; double glazing means a sound sleep can be achieved on mattresses not too hard (by Viet standards.) A/C worked fine, and there was cable TV.

We were only in the hotel for a few hours as we'd arranged for Rising Dragon to book soft-sleeper tickets on the LC1 to Lao Cai at 6.10am. Bit of a quibble there as a staff member accompanied us to the station, and took us to our carriage which was a hard seat, no AC. A bribe later and we were sorted (hard sleeper, but AC), but we'd like to know up front from the hotel what tickets we'd received.

We stayed elsewhere on our return trip, and compared to that this hotel is pretty good. Just a reminder when looking at the reviews, it's not bad value, but a $30 room resembles a $30 room. Some of the reviews on this hotel make it sound like the Sofitel Metropole.

"Rising Dragon"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Cathy E. of Scottsdale Arizona, United States
Reviewed:   April 1, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I would and have recommended Rising Dragon Hotel to other travelers. They could not have been more helpful. They gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations and they booked us an overnight at Halong Bay which turned out to be perfect. The showers were hot, and the breakfasts were good. Staying in the Old Quarter of Hanoi was a great choice. I would stay there again.

"The Dragon Will Continue To Rise"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Colin Y. of Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed:   February 26, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
In our experience, the Rising Dragon is an establishment that deserves a very prosperous future. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The included breakfast was generous and fresh. No tummy problems from fresh fruit or anything else on the menu. Above all, the staff were so helpful and friendly that it was a genuine pleasure to spend a few days with them. We heartily recommend this hotel as a warm, accommodating stopover in Hanoi.

"A Better-Than-Expected Hotel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Steven J. of California, United States
Reviewed:   February 7, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The location is perfect, the room is pretty clean with reasonable price. Actually, it was a family vacation rather than our typical trip. we felt just like we was at home. Everyone went out of there way to make us feel comfortable from check in to check out . There was not one person or thing that we could complain about. Everyone we encountered were friendly . The staff was always on willing to help. We had them booked the tours to Ha Long Bay and Sapa, and also flight tickets to Nha Trang (by the way, Ha Long bay is very fantastic and Sapa is incredible). This is the most recommended hotel for travelers.

"Rising Dragon Hotel"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Pauline L. of Squamish, BC, Canada
Reviewed:   December 3, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A small hotel with personal service. Located in a great area of Hanoi. Management and staff are very helpful. Our room was comfortable and quiet.

"Great Hotel, with Helpful, Friendly Staff"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Charles K. of elizabeth city, nc, United States
Reviewed:   November 29, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I must agree with all the others who give this hotel high marks. The room and lobby were bight and spotless. The shower was large and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location in the Historic District made getting around the city easy. I can not think of a negative thing about my 6 night visit.

Their breakfast pho was the best I had in Vietnam.

"Very Kind Staff"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   C A. of Iowa City, United States
Reviewed:   November 16, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Our over all experience at the Rising Dragon was very positive. We were especially impressed by the solicitousness of the staff. I became I was ill for one of the days we were there, and everyone--from the front desk to the housekeepers--asked about my welfare for the remainder of our stay. Our initial room was on the sixth floor--a tiring hike with no elevator--but the hotel changed that the second day. They were wonderful about letting us leave most of our luggage during our Ha Long Bay trip. The free internet service and breakfast were two real plusses. I would not recommend the middle tier Ha Long Bay trip that we booked through the hotel--incredibly crowded bus on the way down and a boat cabin permeated by a diesel smell.

"Authentic Hanoi"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Alan M. of seattle, United States
Reviewed:   November 8, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I never write these things but we completely loved staying here. We arrived in Hanoi after midnight - but the hotel sent a driver to greet us at no extra charge due to our 4 night stay (And they returned us at some ungodly hour in the morning). We arrived on a dark and empty street and I was worried we picked a bad location till I woke up the next morning and the streets of the historic district were buzzing. Get up really early and see the women on the street selling vegetables on yoked baskets to the Vietnamese "before" the other market down the block even opens. You are blocks from the Lake, the water pupperts, several outdoor markets - The Green Tangerine - an expensive (by Vietnamese standards) gourmet restaurant is across the street. The rooms were spotlessly clean - go for room 201 and the rooms above for French influenced architecture - tall ceilings - a terrace above the street - nice furnishings. But bring earplugs if you plan to sleep in because Hanoi rises early and those motorbikes have to honk at something.)Because we loved it here and wanted to stay longer we were switched to a room with a window onto a lightwell - which we liked less - but it was much less expensive than the $45 USD we spent for our room with Terrace. There is a breakfast included consisting of good vietnamese coffee, fruit, and traditional beef Pho or an omelet with french bread - both got us out the door each day. The real; reason to stay here is the people that work here - they were EXTRAORDINARY to us -kind, helpful, polite and a delight to deal with. Ask them to help you set up your next accomodations as you move on your trip - and book trips to Halong Bay with Tri at her desk in the lobby. My only reluctance to writing this is that YOU might be in room 201 the next time I might want to stay there. Hope you like it too.

"Nice hotel, good service, friendly staff!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Ralph S. of Chicago, United States
Reviewed:   September 13, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I spent two days here and all I can say is wow! Rooms were immaculate, staff well-trained and tour guides were very helpful. i got great prices on my sapa trip and city tour of hanoi. no one pushed me to do anything and since i had a long flight the day before, i was really glad. make sure you see the manager Hieu or his wife -- they worked all day just to get me on a soft-sleeper to sapa instead of hard seats (train station had said it was sold out-- but Hieu worked magic!!) this hotel defines the word service!

Thanks again to all the staff!

"Great deal"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jimmy D. of MINNESOTA, United States
Reviewed:   September 13, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Fantastic location great and friendly staff happy to help you with all your travel plans. Rooms spacy, brand new furniture, mini fridge packed full, good breakfast, unlimited internet access, great air-con, nice shower. I recomend if you are coming to Hanoi you check out Rising Dragon Hotel


1 - 10 of 13 reviews  Next 3 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us