Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.9
 Rooms  3.7
 Cleanliness  3.8
 Location  3.7
 Security & Safety  3.8
 Service & Staff  3.7
 Food / Dining  3.2
 Total  3.6

"Not a great booking with the hotel"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Jennifer B. of KL, Malaysia
Reviewed:   January 12, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I can only review the communication with this hotel as I never actually stayed there. I sent a few emails trying to confirm my reservation and arrange a car pick up from airport. They emailed back thinking I was someone else and that they already spoke with me and arranged transportation. After they realized they had made a mistake I never heard back from them. I kept emailing trying to see if I had a room because if I didn't I would have to book somewhere else. No response. I finally called and they said they didn't have a reservation for me however, they would give me my $50 back that was already paid when making the reservation 6 months ago! They gave what I was owed to a friend that was staying there to give to me. So in the end, I stayed somewhere else and had a fabulous time and Shining Angkor Hotel gave me my deposit back. So my ratings below are not my rating. I can not rate the hotel as I did NOT stay there. My friends who stayed there said the accommodations were good for the price.

"You get what you pay for."

User Rating:  2.2
Reviewer:   Veronica M. of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed:   December 17, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
For $39/night you get a room with a decent bed, but don't expect the smiles or service that the rest of Cambodia offers. Oh, and check and double-check your booking directly with the hotel!

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Jeanne A. of Katy, TX, United States
Reviewed:   December 10, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining

"very nice stay!"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Coralie L. of bangalore, India
Reviewed:   August 21, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nice hotel and well located. We had a very good time over there

"How the hell did they get their rating"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Kevin R. of Wagga Wagga NSW, Australia
Reviewed:   August 11, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Everything about this place is fraudulent.
No airport transfers, no free tuk tuks, they even have the hide to name the bathroom and balcony as rooms to give you a three roomed suite. Misleading photos make it look nice.
It's filthy, noisy, terrible food, terrified staff, a pool with enough chlorine to rip your skin off.
Location is not near anything they say at all and the neighbourhood is a slum.
Stayed one night under duress and booked in elsewhere the following day so we could enjoy our time in Siem Reap.
Shame shame shame on you for giving the rating you have

"Great quiet hotel"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Azni O. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   March 28, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Wonderful hotel to stay it away from city centre so not noisy. Staff are good esp Tuk Tuk

"Nice hotel, but away from town"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Frederick H. of NSW, Australia, Australia
Reviewed:   February 24, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We booked in here from the internet, but thought it was closer to town.
It is in fact about 15 minutes drive and USD3 each way.
There are few eateries and shops around this hotel, but we were not bothered about this.
Subsequent email communications with the hotel did not receive a reply, and we finally had to get our daughter, who lives in Siem Reap to follow up.
It appears that our emails were in their junk folder!
They need to be aware of this and check here.
When we arrived, we unloaded all our luggage and moved it into the hotel, only to be told that we were housed in their apartment rooms, 200 meters away. We felt that since their driver had picked us up, it should have been arranged. to take us there in the first place.
Breakfast and all other meals are in the main hotel.
The staff in the apartments are very friendly, and the apartments have been renovated, and are clean.
Our apartment had a computer, and great wifi connection.
There is a lovely swimming pool on the grounds.
Meal time service is extremely slow, and it usually took us half an our to get our meals.
Overall, if relaxing is what you want, this is the hotel for you.
If you want to be closer to the city and be able to walk to most places, the you should go to a hotel closer to town.

"small, nice and clean hotel"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Irina B. of Moscow, Russia
Reviewed:   February 17, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nice and clean hotel. We booked a deluxe room. We made a prepayment to guarantee the room with one king size bed, but when we arrived (it was late arrival, but we poined it out in the resevation) we recieved another room with 2 beds, one of them was a king size. When we asked we were told that our room was occupied, and that tomorrow they would change it. We stayed at the hotel for 4 days, so we did not want to spend time for changing rooms and decided to stay in the room with 2 beds, the room was almost equal to that one which we booked and prepaid, so there was not much sence in it, but still the feeling not that nice. As I realized later, cambodian people are a bit relaxed and if you arrange and agree smth. with them, you should remind them a day before about your arrival to recieve your service. But the hotel itself is very nice, wooden furniture, free wi-fi, quite clean and very welcoming and helpful staff!!! Very good location, they have their own tuk-tuks for Angkor Wat for reasonable fair. Another thing was that we were waiting for breakfast for half an hour, but why not, weather was fine, atmosphere relaxing, and it it normal for Cambodia. Small advice: if you plan to travel to Cambodia, please, take some repellent with you, because no hotel anywhere will provide it even 5star!!!
But anyway I would recommend this hotel to stay in, we really had a pleasant time there, it is clean and again very welcoming staff!

"Shining Angkor, Siem Reap"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   Charles Jason H. of Alicante, Spain
Reviewed:   February 14, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Overall we found the hotel satisfactory. There were however some things that might deter other people. We ordered a taxi pick up from the airport but instead got a tuk tuk. No big deal but it might have been for older people or people with young children. In general the staff were excellent.
The communal areas of the hotel were pleasing, lots of interesting furniture and artifacts. Our room was however somewhat shabby and in need of tlc.
Breakfast service was very slow and all came at once on one plate, eggs, ham, toast jam and butter.
The location is good for Angkor Wat but a good way out of town making a tuk tuk essential. Tuk tuks are always readily available.

"Very good experience"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Frederick D. of Bruges, Belgium
Reviewed:   January 14, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2013     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed in this hotel for 6 weeks total due to a medical internship in the Siem Reap Provincial hospital. From the first till the last day we felt very welcome. The service, kindness and attitude of the people running the hotel is excellent. Also a very nice room for an affordable price.


1 - 10 of 14 reviews  Next 4 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us