Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.9
 Rooms  3.4
 Cleanliness  3.8
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  4.2
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  3.9
 Total  4.0

"Tamarind, or african sun and sand"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Kristoffer R. of Aalesund, Norway
Reviewed:   April 5, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I arrived around noon at tamarind, only to find out they were not open for guests, construction work. Dont know where the error was, either instant world booking or with tamarind. But someone from the management at tamarind arranged for me a taxi (free of charge) to their other lodge, african sun and sand, little bit further south. So i cant say anything about tamarind but i would guess the staff is as nice and helpful as they were at the african sun and sand, since the management is the same. Besides the error there was nothing wrong and i would recommend this, and definently come back. And about african sun and sand, white beaches, a cool pool to relax in, friendly staff.

"Tamarind beach is great"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Farai M. of harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed:   January 22, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great beach. Great location. Great staff but you need to increase the variety of food and provide better linen in the rooms.

"heerlijke rust en verwennerij"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jan V. of Koewacht, Netherlands
Reviewed:   April 16, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We hebben genoten van de schoonheid, het heerlijke eten en de bijzondere gastvrijheid. Het eten was SUPER.
Doordat de Afrikaanse gastvrijheid gecombineerd was met een goede service en standaard kwamen we helemaal tot rust en hebben we volop genoten van het strandleven Terwijl we leuke gesprekken hadden in een naburig dorp onder een boom in de schaduw war we werden uitgenodigd. FANTASTISCH!!

"loved it"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Skye H. of mackay, Australia
Reviewed:   March 17, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2015     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great service, food a bit slow, but thats african style. Great new years entertainment. Loved our room and staff friendly. Would recommend again.

"Beautiful location, friendly and helpful staff, excellent value for money"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Peter W. of N.S.W, Australia
Reviewed:   February 26, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2015     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My wife and I had a wonderful, relaxing, quiet time together at Tamarind. We stayed for 23 nights and it was just delightful. The staff were at all times friendly, professional and helpful. We were picked up from the airport and escorted to the resort. The staff assisted us in advising and organizing external activities such as snorkeling and day visits to places of interest, the meals were nice and the beer was cold. I have been visiting east Africa for twenty years as a volunteer aid worker and have stayed in many places in that time. I recommend Tamarind as an excellent place to stay if you want peace and quiet, tranquility in a beautiful setting with very friendly and helpful staff at very reasonable tariffs. Great staff, good food, beautiful location, the premises needs a makeover but the rooms and grounds were always clean and adequate.

"Lovely, familiar feel"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Anna C. of Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed:   January 26, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2015     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The tamarind was a nice, quiet place to stay for 5 nights. We got to know the kitchen staff and enjoyed the laid-back environment. The beach was lovely for walks and enjoying the waves. The pool was nice to sit by and relax.

The Tamarind team was helpful in setting up daytrips and we thoroughly enjoyed snorkeling, a spice tour and boat ride to Prison Island. Stone town was also good for a day. Otherwise, Tamarind feels very much off the beaten path and a wonderful, chill getaway - the opposite of a resort experience.

"Nice area"

User Rating:  3.1
Reviewer:   Mikaela J. of Ndola, Zambia
Reviewed:   January 10, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Rooms need to seriously be improved. Our room had no Giza,perhaps
you have to request for it. The beach was lovely and the wonderful pool.
The food was also nice,more like home food though not restaurant quality and quite pricy. We had no lock in our room so did not always feel safe at night. Also there is a mosquito net but they some how find their way in because I got bitten a lot.
At about 4 o'clock in the morning every day you will hear praying from a mosque very nearby. All in all it was a nice area but the hotel itself needs a lot of maintenance, the grass is even dry.

"Tamarind Beach hotel"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Stefania D. of Rome, Italy
Reviewed:   January 3, 2015  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Siamo arrivati il 27 dicembre e ripartiti il 1 gennaio. l'hotel e' essenziale, quasi monacale, ma non serve altro vista la posizione. Infatti da sulla spiaggia di uroa, grande, bianca, quasi deserta con l'unica pecca di essere troppo ventosa. Il bungalow dava sulla spiaggia, quindi stupendo. Però all'interno la struttura era un po' fatiscente e non molto pulita. Il mangiare buono, la colazione ottima e la cena fa dei buoni piatti indiani. Il pesce non lo cucinano un granché. La cena del 31 a buffet e con grande grigliata di carne e pesce, ma i camerieri lesinavano le porzioni. Bella però la festa con i musicisti, ballerine locali a cui poi si sono uniti i ragazzi del villaggio.

"Disappointing"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Alida F. of Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed:   December 29, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2014     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was disappointed with this hotel. While others said it was "simple" or a bit run down, it was an underestimation. The windows in my room had no latches so were open all the time; I was unable to really "secure" my room.
The hotel is very poorly maintained. It could be very beautiful if they put a bit of investment into it. Even a paint job - the base of the bed in the room had paint peeling off it.

The driver and the barmen were friendly - other than that, I didn't find the staff overly helpful. Nothing was fixed in my room and the general manager was usually sitting in a chair texting or talking on the phone at the front.

The food was the best thing there - they do have tasty dinners.

Not a great impression overall.

"My Stay at the Tamarind"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   James K. of Marietta, United States
Reviewed:   June 23, 2014  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Me and my beautiful wife visited Uroa in Zanzibar. Our stay in the Tamarind Beach Hotel was the best experience I ever had. Very friendly staff always ready to help. The food was great, great chef they have at the Tamarind. The rooms were very clean. We also met some great guests there who became friends like Michael and Nadiah. It was a home away from home and w will definitely visit again.


1 - 10 of 66 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us