Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  4.0
 Cleanliness  4.1
 Location  4.7
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.3

"Good hostel, great location"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Stephen C. of Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   January 19, 2017  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I used to live just outside Ripon and on weekends I'd come into Rio and stay at various hostels. The Mango Tree is one of the better ones I stayed in and would definitely go there again. Lots of space for down time, and communal space for meeting others. Not really a party hostel but there is a bar on the weekend that peoplease gravitate too. Not the cheapest hostel but you won't find cheaper one block back from the beach. Location is awesome. You can also hire bikes and surfoards from the hostel. Bikes are fine but surfboards are unusable.

"Wonderful hostel..."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Linda J. of Munich, Germany
Reviewed:   November 8, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Wonderful hostel in a great location, stayed in a private room (very clean) that was decorated beautifully. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi worked fine. Met some really wonderful people. Breakfast was good with fresh fruit, juice, and toast. Not a party hostel, the bar is only open on the weekends which is unfortunate because they make a great caipirinha :).

"The best hostel :-)"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Caro S. of Cba, Argentina
Reviewed:   October 13, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The best hostel ever

"Great place to stay"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Maria A. of Madison, WI, United States
Reviewed:   October 12, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel was lively with a mature group of people willing to meet others. I was traveling through Brazil alone, and met many other similar travelers here to tour Rio with. I had an amazing stay at the Mango Tree and rio. I hope to be back soon, and would hands down stay at the Mango Tree again.

"Great stay"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Andrew B. of Jamisontown, Australia
Reviewed:   October 8, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice chilled atmosphere with friendly people. Staff were always so helpful. Comfortable beds and good breakfast.

"Stay in Rio"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Christopher C. of Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   October 7, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2016     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Myself and a couple of friends returned to Rio for a few nights before heading home.
We enjoyed the Mango Tree - great location, friendly staff and good facilities.
Would recommend!

"Excellent hostel safe and clean and quiet"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Darrell N. of Vero beach, United States
Reviewed:   September 22, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel was clean quiet when it needed to be and safe. The staff was informative and friendly. Anyone would enjoy staying here.

"Fancy and neat but not friendly"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Diego C. of Santos, Brazil
Reviewed:   September 14, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The location is pretty nice, close to the beautiful beach of Ipanema, all the bars and good restaurants. The breakfast was amazing, with pancakes, fruits, yoghurts... The place is charming and clean, it has a quiet and calm atmosfere, if you are looking for a party hostel, this one is definitly not for you. The staff (frontdesk) is heplful but not friendly at all!! I felt like I was staying in some kind of impersonal flat, quite different from the other hostels I've been in Rio and Brasil. The guy in the frontdesk didn't even bothered to answer my farewell when I was leaving the place. Fancy and neat, but it doesn't have a "hostel enviroment".

"Hotel more than hostel"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Candy A. of Columbia, SC, United States
Reviewed:   September 9, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I enjoyed this place a lot. Although it's not as social as other hostels are--this is why I say it's more like a hotel than a hostel atmosphere.

Pros:
--The hostel was clean and well maintained at all times I was there.
--The breakfast was plentiful (fruits, yogurt, coffee, teas, fresh made juices, bread, cheese, meat, oatmeal, etc), and they have warm milk :}.
--Staff was kind and accommodating even with a language barrier (only with the cleaning ladies).
--Front desk spoke English very well.
--Luggage storage :)
--Great location, only a block off Ipanema Beach.
--Close enough to the metro
--Bike rental
--Informative about things to do in Rio (nightlife, tours, transportation, etc).

Con:
--My side of the room didn't have an outlet.
--Atmosphere, not as social as other hostels.

"BEST STAY EVER IN RIO"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Nassim T. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   June 14, 2016  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I loved my stay there !!! I met incredible people, had a lot of fun and the staff was so nice and helpful !!! The rooms were clean, secured and the breakfast was so good ! I came alone to celebrate my birthday it was totally worth it !!One street from the beach !
I definitely recommend this hostel ! and if I had to come back in Rio I wuld definitely stay there !


1 - 10 of 35 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us