Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.6
 Rooms  3.2
 Cleanliness  3.4
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  3.6
 Service & Staff  3.8
 Food / Dining  3.4
 Total  3.5

"British to its boot-straps"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Martin C. of Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed:   December 2, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2010     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Pub is built along British Lines with an English style bar and dark timber exposed beams . The Host , Graham Quinn from County Durham in England is a ling term Thai resident and caters for the British Community in Chiang Mai as well as Australians , British and Europeans . There is Tiger , Tetleys and Guinness draft beer in addtion to a variety of bottled beer from the UK.
I stayed for 11 nights and was impresed by the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom. The Pub is an inexpensive home from home and about a twenty minute walk from the old Walled Town however the expansion of the Chiang Mai in recent years has surrounded the Pub with restaurants , bars and shops. Next time I stay in Chiang Mai I shall stay at The Pub.

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   JOHN T. of ARARAT, Australia
Reviewed:   March 21, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining

"The Pub is a great place"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Charles W. of Sacramento, United States
Reviewed:   April 26, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We booked in for 3 days and after 2 decided to cancel our reservation at another place and stay on for an additional 6 days. Need I say more?
OK, I will. Free Wireless Internet. Good English breakfast. Good daily specials for dinner. Good prices for drinks in the pub. No Bar Girls bothering you. Oldest Pub in Chiang Mai with a great staff. No surprises when you get the bill. Nice room with a shower that doesn't get the toilet wet. No Laboratory experiments growing in the shower either. Aircon is not on a dead man switch, so when you come back you don't have to wait an hour for the room to cool down. It's a 3 star room with 5 star quality for a 2 star price.
No pool, no TV and no Telephone. But then again, didn't we come on vacation to get away from the Rat Race? TV in the Pub is on for the news in the mornings and all major sporting events no matter what time.
A bit of a walk from the center of town or the night bazaar but 20 baht (60 cents) in a Song Taew (red taxi) will get you to or from either.
When I come to Chiang Mai next year I will book for a month and skip all the other places I used to stay.

"Enjoyable experience"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Stan R. of Pattaya, Thailand
Reviewed:   October 22, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Malee and I so much enjoyed our two night stay in one of the new bungalows, The fixtures and fittings are of the highest standards and the bed was very comfortable. We will be returning around the 10th October and hopefully can stay longer. We have long enjoyed the hospitality of the "PUB", the food, atmosphere and staff so now it will be our home from home on our frequent visits to Chiang Mai.

"The Pub Chiang Mai"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Kevin K. of Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 21, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
While visiting The Pub in Chiang Mai, discovered the new bungalow accommodation they had added withing the garden grounds of the olde pub. Booked in for a few nights and was so glad I did. The rooms are very clean with en suite facilities and free WiFi in each room. There is a small veranda where you can sit and relax in the garden atmosphere. The English style Pub is the oldest in Chiang Mai and has a great bar and restaurant. The bar in the evening is buzzing with travellers and local expats alike. The Pub is a family run affair and the staff are friendly, courteous and tuned to your every need. Close to town but not too close to be bothered by the noise. An ideal place to stay and use as a base for your northern Thailand activities and sightseeing. Would certainly recommend this place to young and older types of tourists. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us