Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.6
 Cleanliness  4.7
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.5

"Unique accommodation, would recommend"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Clayton S. of BC, Canada
Reviewed:   August 3, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2019     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My partner and I stayed at this accommodation knowing no Spanish or our way around, luckily the owners were so nice and a massive help to us with any need. I would definitely come back here next time I visit México

"Relaxing time in Puerto Morelos"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Charlie S. of Olympia, United States
Reviewed:   February 3, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2019     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed in this idyllic inn on the "town" side of Puerto Morelos and loved it. The grounds are a tropical jewel, and the owners/operators are wonderful. We appreciated their suggestions for eateries and places to see, and enjoyed the well cared-for accomodations. A great way to start our Yucatan vacation!

"Quiet and Peaceful"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   John L. of Moyie, Canada
Reviewed:   January 28, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2019     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a very enjoyable stay of 8 nights. My room was clean, cosy and nicely decorated. Christine and Alain were incredible hosts with excellent recommendations about where to eat and things to do in the area. The whole place was charming and I would not hesitate in recommending this guest house - it's unique, friendly and very affordable.

"We Love Casitas Kinsol!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Joan P. of Atchison, United States
Reviewed:   January 20, 2019  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2019     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Charming accommodations in Colonia area of Puerto Morelos. Safe, clean, beautiful, inexpensive. European hosts speak many languages. Artistically appointed rooms surround an open jungle courtyard and kitchen. No meals are served here, but good restaurants are within walking distance. The owners are kind, knowledgeable, and do everything in their power to make your visit a great experience. We have stayed here many times over the years and will continue to come back. About 20 minutes from the Cancun airport.

"A cute hotel in a beautiful location"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Nancy S. of Victor, Montana, United States
Reviewed:   December 24, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Casitas Kinsol is a family run hotel with a number of rooms built around the families' home. The room was very nice, plumbing worked well and the owner/manager was very kind, spoke good English, and helped us with various questions. If you are considering this hotel, you must remember that it is in the town of Puerto Morelos, not the beach area. We walked the 3 or 4 kilometers to get to the beach with no problem. Others ride bikes or take a local bus. There are not any of the groovy tourist shops or cafes around the town, but there is plenty of authentic local places. Knowledge of Spanish would be helpful in the town area, but we got by just fine with minimal Spanish to explain our vegetarian eating. For simple travellers that want an authentic Mexican experience, this place is perfect.

"Perfect stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Hannah F. of Victoria, Australia
Reviewed:   October 31, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Kinsol is an oasis in the sweet town of Puerto Moroles. Our host ensured we ate the best local food and saw the highlights of the town, including the amazing botanical garden, and snorkeling in the amazing reef. Kinsol was a relaxing, welcoming and truly beautiful place for our first few days in Mexico.

"A lot to improve"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Joe M. of Memphis, United States
Reviewed:   September 21, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I got what I paid for, cheap price = cheap expectations.
Wondering to return? No, thanks.

"Great stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jesus T. of GUADALAJARA, Mexico
Reviewed:   July 25, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Really lovely place. Recomended 100%

"Great Stay"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Louis B. of Bedford NS, Canada
Reviewed:   May 12, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very friendly host. Valuable advice on places to eat and visit. Host advised us on 2 very nice restaurants very close by. We got the true Yucatan experience with her help. Ended up staying 2 more days...

"Magical garden village and charming hosts!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Stephanie S. of College Park, MD, United States
Reviewed:   April 26, 2018  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Tucked away in a Mexican neighborhood on the “town side” of Puerto Morelos, hidden behind a wrought iron gate, is a wonderfully designed tiny village of casitas in a magical garden setting. This oasis is made even more appealing by its charming hosts Christine and Alain and their menagerie of dogs, cat, and turtle. This was our second stay at Casitas Kinsol – last year we spent two nights which was far too short, so this year we stayed 4 nights – and at the end it was even harder to leave than it was the first time!

Christine and Alain are both welcoming and friendly and they have poured their hearts and souls into creating and maintaining this beautiful little oasis. Christine is a talented designer, and everywhere you look there are carefully chosen and artfully placed objects of pottery and glass and wood. An open-air shared lounge/dining area provides an attractive place to socialize or have a snack, and another lounge above provides a slightly more secluded space with a treehouse feel. Last year we stayed happily in Room #2, their smallest room which we found very cozy, comfortable, and attractive; this year we stayed in Room #1, an authentic Mayan hut with its own garden courtyard and a small kitchen area. The other rooms we saw were all very attractive as well, each very individual and thoughtfully designed. All have very nice bathrooms with beautiful tile work, and all of the rooms were very clean and neat, as were the common areas.

As pet lovers, we thoroughly enjoyed spending time with the elegant cat Mis-ha and the three sweet dogs Taxi, Nena, and Tati. And we very much enjoyed our conversations with Christine and Alain, about the past, present, and future of Puerto Morelos, world affairs, animals, art, and life in general. They also provided excellent advice about local restaurants and things to do.

Puerto Morelos itself is a refreshing change from the more touristed parts of this region. There seem to be just the right number of fellow travelers enjoying the charms of Puerto Morelos to support a nice variety of restaurants while allowing it to remain calm and civilized and relaxing. We enjoyed exploring both the tourist-oriented beach side of Puerto Morelos and the locals-oriented town side. We did not have a rental car but it was easy to get around with taxis or the Kinsol’s own bicycles; it’s a very short and ridiculously cheap taxi ride from Kinsol to the beach (5 minutes and 30 pesos). All in all, Casitas Kinsol is a unique, charming, and lovely place to stay, and an exceptional value compared with the much higher prices of beach resorts and condos. Also the short 20-minute drive to/from the airport make it a very convenient first or last stop if you are visiting other areas. We will definitely be returning to Casitas Kinsol each time we come to the Riviera Maya. Highly recommended!


1 - 10 of 134 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us