Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.6
 Rooms  3.2
 Cleanliness  2.8
 Location  3.3
 Security & Safety  3.4
 Service & Staff  3.5
 Food / Dining  3.0
 Total  3.3

"Graffiti Hostal"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   M C. of Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed:   April 4, 2010  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dirty is the first word to describe this hostal. Dust, grease, garbage, and a generally grimy feeling about the place. It desperately needs a deep cleaning. Along with a deep cleaning, a few simple repairs would go along way into making the place decent. I do have to give them credit though, they wash the sheets between travelers. And I did see one of the employees mopping the floor one day.. although later that same night he came in very drunk around 3am and decided to urinate all over that same floor...take that how you will.

All in all I found the place not that great. The owners/employees were not at all professional, they were dirty and unkempt themselves. They were very disorganized, which is probably due to the fact that they spent most of their time sitting outside smoking pot. At the same time, they were friendly.

If you're looking for a nice hostel, this is not it. If you're looking for a place to dump you suitcase while you visit Barcelona, this place might work. There is a metro stop very close to get almost anywhere in the city (you're definitely too far to walk though). There is also a grocery store nearby and the hostel kitchen has the necesities, provided you wash them first.

"very bad"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Qwe Q. of Kyiv, Ukraine
Reviewed:   September 28, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Be carefull, they can use your bank account details after reservation

"Crappity Hostel"

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Shannah J. of Diest (Vlaams-Brabant), Belgium
Reviewed:   September 25, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Here's a good word of advice : don't go there
We arrived with 7 friends and at first they said they didn't have a room for us and that we would have to go to another hostel. But I had made the reservations in may, so it was bullshit. And then they let us stay there but we had to sleep in seperate rooms... It was filthy, there was a shower in the middle of the bedroom, so everyone could see you taking a shower. There were also no locks on the door, so everyone could come in to your room... We left after one night and went to the garden house (go there, it's lovely!!)

"N'y allez pas!"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Pierre-Etienne G. of Québec, Canada
Reviewed:   September 17, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Europebandb.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Francais-French):
Cet hotel est vraiment le pire que j'ai vu! On avait réservé pour une chambre de 16 lit, il y en avait 24. Les chambres, la salle de bain, et toutes les pièce que j'ai vu était sales. Les lits étaient tout simplement dégueulasse. En plus, ils nous ont donné une chambre en réparation, donc il y avait beaucoup de poussière et de bruit durant le jour. Les salles de bain, dans les chambres, avaient de simples rideau un peu transparants pour remplacer les murs. Les gens du staff sont plutôt irrespectueux. Je finissais de prendre ma douche derrière les rideaux et ils sont entrés sans prévenir pour expliquer aux réparateurs quoi faire, sans aucunement se soucier de ma présence alors que j'était en train de me changer. Même si le prix est très faible, je crois qu'il faut vraimetn chercher ailleurs, car cet hôtel minable a vraiment influencé notre appréciation de barcelone. En plus, on s'est fait volé nos soulier dans notre chambre!!
Seul point positif, l'accès à internet et à la cuisine.
À moins de ne pas être dérangé par les commune à la limite du taudis, L'otel graiffiti est à éviter.

"oh my God ! Horrible...!"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Nathalie P. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   August 5, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I think Graffiti Hostel is the worst hostel in Barcelona. At first sight on the web, the photos can be attractive for some people, but it's totally wrong ! What was our suprise when we came in the room ! A lot of dust everywhere, a shower very dirty as well as the wc, just separated by a green plastic curtain... All is old and fouling... The mattresses are mildewed, the mezzanines wobbly ! and the walls unheathly... all is unhealthy, so much that breathes dust and dirtiness ! The thing which surprised me was the antenna relay straightforwardly in the room, above the beds !
The staff never ask you how you are and if you have a good day... Apparently, they don't know speak French... Some join tenants are really worst than porks...
I advice you not to sleep there and look for an other hostel if you want to have a good sejour. Such a shame !! Trust me, it's better to sleep outside.

"Horrible"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Clara L. of Hjo, Sweden
Reviewed:   July 24, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Me and my boyfriend made the booking of the hostel for 10-11 july. We put arrival time 5 pm that day. When we arrived someone else got our booking and they told us that we should have been there 10 am instead. It was understood that we will loose our 10% deposit. But not only that. We also lost the amount for the whole night. That is a total of 30 euros! This is not nice at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Been traveling in hostels in New Zealand, Australia, Canada and never experienced this before!

"A Bad Experience"

User Rating:  1.9
Reviewer:   Will M. of Bowling Green, KY, United States
Reviewed:   June 14, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I booked this hostel several days in advance and received a reservation confirmation email; however when I arrived at the hostel they had no record of our reservation and flatly said they didn't have a place for us to stay. To their credit, they helped us find another place to stay, but the other place did not have enough free beds and so my party had to sleep two to a bed. Also, they were not very polite and very defensive about the matter...the woman didn't seem to want to admit that this was their fault. Overall I would not recommend this hostel.

"Graffiti Hostel-Skip it if you can"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Kathryn B. of Denver, United States
Reviewed:   May 21, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at the Graffiti Hostel, and I was extremely disappointed. I was in Barcelona for 5 days and 4 nights, and it was definitely the cheapest. First of all, it was expensive to take a cab with all my luggage from the train station. I had just spent a semester in Sevilla, and was headed through Barcelona on my way back to the United States. The hostel didn't have big lockers like they had said, they had small lockers for passports and valuables. However, they had lost the key and could not give me the key for the first night I was there. It was extremely loud and dirty. I understand people are traveling, and the crowd that is attracted to this particular hostel is younger, but it was so dirty I slept with my clothes on each night. I shared the Berlin room, and there was just a shower stall inside the room. It smelled awful, and they never cleaned it. My roommate even got sick one night, and threw up all over her bed. They didn't even change the mattress, just put new sheets on!!
One of the guys at the hostel was extremely unhelpful, and always came into our room unannounced, even if we were changing. I did not feel safe one minute there, and everything was so dirty. I've stayed in many hostels, some are very good and some are very bad. This one I would say was on the very bad side.

"what a mess!"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Katell R. of Brest, France
Reviewed:   January 9, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had booked 2 beds (12 euros each) for 6 nights in a dormitory 2 1/2 months previous to our arrival. About a week before flying to Barcelona I got a mail from Hostelworld saying that for some reason they had to close the hostel for a week so we were homeless for 3 nights, we could only check in from Dec.30th!
I was so outraged: where were we supposed to find such a cheap place to stay in Barcelona? We managed to book another hostel for 3 nights and eventually we got to Graffiti hostel on the Sunday. We asked them why they had to shut the place for a week: the staff had never heard of that!!After some investigation we found out that the staff wasn't really in charge of the booking, they usually get the information from Hostelworld whose logistic is a real mess.
What happened next is even funnier: as Hostels world had doubled booked each bed, my friend and I had to sleep in the same single bed! what do you think of that?! We managed to bargain the bill but some people paid full price. It was the revolution at the hostel because the staff wasn't really responsible for it.Everybody was complaining, they weren't enough blankets for everyone, I won't even mention the cleanliness of the place...wanna stay there? please don't, you'd be better off sleeping in the street!
(I hope my review will be on the net despite the negative criticism)

"DO NOT STAY AT GRAFFITI HOSTEL"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Abigail H. of Fayetteville, AR, United States
Reviewed:   August 6, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
To anyone looking for affordable accommodation in Barcelona, be forewarned that graffiti is NOT the place to stay. The prices quoted are reasonable, but they will not be the price you pay at the end. And that is if you dont get kicked out of your room as well.

During a two month tour of europe, two nights at this hostel were far and away the most unpleasant experience of my travels. I traveled with four other people, and while checking in (after insisting for nearly 30 min that i did not have a reservation, after which they realized they had simply misplaced it!) they asked us if we would all like to stay in the same room. We replied that we did and ended up in a tiny room with one bed for five people. They promised to bring in cots but never did. That night, we were charged 80 EUROS because they booked us as walkins, even though we did have a reservation that the staff lost and then found and then somehow lost again, plus several other sizely and completely mysterious fees which elevated our quoted price, 25 euros/night, to 80 euros/ngiht.

But it gets worse. After spending the day exploring the city, my friends and i returned to the hostel for the second even to find all of our possessions thrown out of our room into the hall. They had overbooked, kicked us out of our room, and told us that if we had no place else to go we could sleep on the ROOF for 40/euros night. It was already 10 oclock in the evening, so we were left with no choice but to throw a blanket on the pigeon shit covered roof and try to get some sleep.

On top of this horrendous service, then late-twenty-something men running this place are rude alcoholics (they start drinking at 10 am, and were completely drunk by the time i checked in at 1 pm) who dont miss a beat trying to get in your pants while simultaneously fucking you over on both the price and quality of your accommodation. DO NOT STAY AT GRAFFITI HOSTEL.


1 - 10 of 11 reviews  Next 1 result




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us