Instant World Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.6
 Location  4.7
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  4.0
 Total  4.6

"haven for the heart in hanoi"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Helen S. of new york, United States
Reviewed:   March 26, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
if i prolonged my long stay in hanoi - and fell in love with a city that others have found troublesome and challenging - it was because of the comfort, beauty and joy i derived from jasmine, sister to the ritz hotel. the rooms were beautiful, commodious, and well tended, and the staff as warm hearted and amenable as they were eager to attend what ever needs i might have had. both the ritz hotel and the jasmine are within walking distance of the lake - in the old quarter - and owned by the same young couple. while The Ritz has a more nostalgic, literary character (reminescent of peter lorre , humphrey bogart and sydney greenstreet films), and is situated in a quiet alley, Jasmine is recently opened with modern, impecabley decorated, boutique style rooms that are tastefully decorated and remarkably affordable. all the elements that combine to make a great hotel - staff, rooms, location and value - persuaded me stay several weeks beyond my original intentions - and contributed to some enduring, and wonderful, memories of my travels through viet nam. i recommend it to all.

"Fabulous hotel, great location, very helpful staff!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Arabella B. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   March 11, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed here on our first night in Vietnam, and were very pleased with the reception we received, room size, the cleanliness, the bath tub (a treat for the 2 kids), and the location (very central-walk to pagodas, to markets, restaurants a few doors away from a bar, a few minutes to the water puppet theatre). Its a bit odd going down an alley to get to it, but you get over it! There is no lift, so be prepared to carry bags up. The staff helped us, so it was not a real problem. We will definitely return, and stay longer this time.

"A fine hotel"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   T K. of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Reviewed:   February 19, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Pro's:
- nice location, 1 minute from the lake, 5 min to nice restaurants/bars, and 10 min walking to the Old Quarter
- spacious rooms that are suprisingly nicely decorated, with antique Vietnamese furniture
- friendly staff
- computers available in the lobby
- good shower

Con's:
- there is a night club next to it, and you can hear the music somewhat, yet this will stop at 11pm
- no other facilities (yet this is inherent in the price category)

Conclusion: If I would be looking for a place to stay in Hanoi, I would go her again. Obviously, if you intend to impress your (girl) friend with a romantic Hanoi trip, you might consider other places (at higher prices).

"The Ritz Hotel, Hanoi"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Awmsin M. of Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed:   February 12, 2009  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staffs there are very friendly and helpful. The room and amennityies are clean enough.

"Good location"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sunny K. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   December 20, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hotel is situated in a back alley which looked scary at first but it is a plus point as it is away from the busy road. There is a supermarket near the hotel and a nice Hapro restaurant nearby. Friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast area is a bit small though.

"Adventures via the Ritz"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Warren S. of Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed:   December 11, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Super value for the money. (Had some reservations because of low price, but reviews helped me take a chance - and we had a great experience.) Staff is very knowledgable, helpful, and generously flexible. Would stay there again and recommend for anyone who want a clean, full service room at a modest price. Assistance with tours and booking was in every way helpful considerate and accurate. Free Internet, breakfast with the room, able to store bags safely, and complete competency with English. Don't be put off by the exterior - this is the place you want to stay when you are going to be out and about, but want a clean room, hot shower and breakfast in the morning. If you want to stay in a 5-star, why are you going to places like Vietnam anyway? You'll meet lots of adverturesome folks from everywhere in the world - enjoy!

"Excellent staff and service"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Andrea C. of Victoria, Canada
Reviewed:   November 23, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed at The Ritz several times during November and early December, 2008. The staff are exeptionally polite, friendly and eager to please. Luggage was stored and even when we had checked out, showers were available. The staff also assisted with taxis and trip arrangements without being pushy.

"Excellent Budget Hotel"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Zendou H. of Penang, Malaysia
Reviewed:   November 22, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
One may feel skeptical judging from the alley leading to the hotel, but once inside, the hotel is simply wonderful. Friendly staffs, clean room, great location. They tidy your room and change new towels everyday. And yes, they do charge a service fees of USD5 per person for tours booked through them. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone planning to visit Hanoi.

"Recommended"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Nick L. of Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed:   November 21, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed at the Ritz for three days. The staff was excellent, very helpful with arranging tours, calling taxi's and giving general advise.

No hard sells on tours. We took the overnight train to Sapa and back. (a tour we booked on the net not through the hotel) Eventhough we hadnt booked the Ritz for our return trip to Hanoi the staff invited us back to shower and have breakfast.

We arrived at 5am, the door was locked but after one knock a staff member arrived opened up, gave us a room key free of charge. We showered used the room for one or two hours and stayed for breakfast, the meal is all we paid for in exchange for use of the room.

Staff called a taxi for us to head to the Airport. The Ritz is across the street from Hoan Kiem Lake and close to Water Puppets, market and other attractions in Hanoi.

We absolutely recommend it.

"Amazing customer service!"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Amy L. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   November 19, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
when i booked at the ritz from hostel traveler, they had offered free transportation from the hanoi airport (free if you book for 2 days or more). however, the taxi driver, who does not work directly with the hotel, insisted that i pay for the taxi ride $17! when i told the front desk what had happened, they were very apologetic and offered a refund for the cab ride. they were also very helpful in arranging our trip to halong bay (pick up at the hotel) and our train ride to Lo Cai. they also stored our luggage when we took side trips to ha long bay and sapa and even offered a room for us to shower, change and repack between the trips! overall, great deal for the price. immaculately clean, very convenient location. would definitely stay here again if we come back to hanoi.


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 37 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantWorldBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us